You are here: barcelona.de > Travel information > Barcelona currently > Sant Jordi – Day of the Book and the Rose
Hotels in Barcelona
Destination:
Check-in: 
Check-out: 
Hide advanced options

Hotel category (stars):
 1-star hotels
 2-star hotels
 3-star hotels
 4-star hotelss
 5-star hotelss

Hotel facilities:
Outdoor swimming pool
Indoor swimming pool
Spa & wellness centre
Fitness centre Restaurant
Familiy rooms Parking
Pets allowed
Internet Wi-Fi/wireless LAN
Rooms for disabled guests

Currency:
Tickets for home games of the FC Barcelona

Sant Jordi – Day of the Book and the Rose

Sant Jordi is also the day of the patron saint of Catalonia

23rd April: On the day of Sant Jordi in Barcelona- as in all of Catalonia - people give one another a rose or a book. And it’s not only couples that do this. The Generalitat in Plaça de Sant Jaume is open to the public. In the palace and around it there is a large rose market. You can buy books everywhere.

Sant Jordi: Day of the Book and the Rose

Documents show that the tradition of giving away roses as a symbol of love on the day of Sant Jordi, dates back to the 15th century, even if not the exact date is known. Furthermore, why this day is the day of lovers and Sant Jordi has become the patron saint of lovers is not known with certainty. In the most famous legend of Saint George - although he freed the princess from the dragon - he didn’t marry her, as the moral of this story was Christian baptism rather than love, according to the legend (see below).

In 1926 Spain declared the 23rd April, the anniversary of the death of Miguel de Cervantes, the most famous Spanish writer, as Book Day. This was coping England, who had also respected the 23rd April as the death of Shakespeare. It was a coincidence that this coincided with the day of the feast of Sant Jordi. This led, however, to mean that Book Day was hardly celebrated. Only much later did the day of love also became a day of literature in the mind of the population.

The 23rd April, the day of Sant Jordi, the patron saint of Catalonia, is today the day of the rose and the book, the day of love and culture.

World Book and Copyright Day

In 1995 UNESCO declared 23rd April as World Book and Copyright Day. This was to acknowledge that the book has historically contributed most to the spread of knowledge. The proliferation of books is a cultural enrichment throughout the world.

The history and legend of Saint George (Sant Jordi)

As with many traditions that are firmly rooted in society, today we know very little about their origin. To understand the traditions on the day of Sant Jordi, one must immerse oneself in some of the stories and legends that have sprung up around Saint George.

Although George was venerated in the Middle Ages in Europe, today we know very little about this historical figure. It is certain that he served as a Roman soldier around 300 AD. He was regarded as a Christian martyr who would not be questioned about his beliefs. The name "Georgius" means farm, which is perhaps the reason why the Catholic liturgy chose this day in spring as his name day. He is also regarded as a protector of the harvest.

In addition, he is also regarded as protector of lovers, which explains why since the 15th Century a large rose market takes place around the government palace (Generalitat de Catalunya) in Plaça Sant Jaume and in its courtyard on the day of Sant Jordi.

Because so little is known of the historical figure, the myths and legends around the Catalan patron grow. A legend tells of his seven-year Mathyrium. In the seven years of torture Sant Jordi never lost his faith. This legend explains why Jordi was chosen as patron saint of the Knights of the Byzantine Empire. During this time he was called out for help to win against the "infidels". In addition to Catalonia he was also chosen as the patron saint of England, Georgia, Greece and Serbia and many more.

The best known and most popular legend describes how he defeated a dragon in the infinite country Silene. This dragon poisoned the air of a village. And to appease him, the people always sacrificed a lamb and a virgin who was chosen. One day the princess of the country met this fate; George killed the dragon and freed her. The Princess and the entire population were converted to Christianity. Since the 13th century the most widely used figure of Sant Jordi is the scene where he kills the dragon with a lance while riding a white horse.

The worship of Sant Jordi in Catalonia

Since the 8th century Sant Jordi is venerated in Catalonia. Evidence for this is that many churches and chapels have been dedicated to his memory. Even the kings adored him; Jaume I even describes how the Catalan Sant Jordi helped in the conquest of Mallorca. Under the protection of Sant Jordi an Order of Knights was founded. Since 1343 Sant Jordi has been celebrated in the Catalan land of Valencia, and in Majorca since 1407. In1456 the Catalan Parliament adopted a constitution in the cathedral of Barcelona declaring Sant Jordi as a festival day.

The fact that the worship of Sant Jordi takes place in all areas is also shown at the government palace of Catalonia at Plaça Sant Jaume. Here in the 19th Century a medallion of Sant Jordi was installed on the gothic facade and inside the building a chapel was built in honor of him.

At many attractions in Barcelona today you can see the cult of Sant Jordi. One example is the so called Casa Batlló, built by Gaudí, whose roof resembles a dragon.

Saint George (Sant Jordi)

This representation of Saint George (Sant Jordi) is certainly the most widely used.


Customer Service Contact
Frequently asked questions
Travel information
Legal © 1997-2014: Barcelona.de - Imprint
General terms and conditions
Terms of use and privacy policy
Most booked Barcelona Card
Ticket Bus Turístic
City tours
  Hotels in Barcelona
Flamenco show
Hard Rock Cafe dinner
Official Ticket Agent Official ticket agent of the FC Barcelona

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Stadt-Infos > Feste & Veranstaltungen > Sant Jordi

Sant Jordi - Tag des Buches und der Rose am 23. April

Sant Jordi ist auch der Tag des Schutzpatrons von Katalonien

23. April: Am Tag des Sant Jordi schenkt man sich in Barcelona - wie in ganz Katalonien - eine Rose oder ein Buch. Nicht nur Paare untereinander. Die Generalitat am Plaça de Sant Jaume ist für das Publikum geöffnet. In dem Palast und um ihn herum findet ein großer Rosenmarkt statt. Überall können Sie Bücher kaufen.

Sant Jordi: Tag des Buches und der Rose

Dokumente belegen, dass die Tradition, am Tag des Sant Jordi Rosen als Symbol der Liebe zu verschenken, bereits in das 15. Jahrhundert zurück geht, wenn auch das genaue Datum nicht bekannt ist. Auch warum dieser Tag zum Tag der Liebenden und Sant Jordi zum Schutzpatron der Liebenden wurde, ist nicht mit Sicherheit geklärt. In der bekanntesten Georg-Legende befreite er zwar die Prinzessin vom Drachen, er heiratete sie aber nicht, da nicht die Liebe sondern die Taufe inhaltliches Ziel dieser Legende ist (s.u.).

1926 erklärt Spanien den 23. April, dem Todestages von Cervantes, dem wohl berühmtesten spanischen Schriftstellers, als Tag des Buches. Diese Tradition hat man den Engländern abgeschaut, die es ebenso mit dem Todestag von Shakespeares, ihres berühmtesten Schriftstellers, halten. Sheakespeare starb am 23. April 1616.
Es war Zufall, dass der Tag mit dem Namenstag des Sant Jordi zusammenfiel. Das führte aber dazu, dass der Tag des Buches kaum gefeiert wurde. Erst viel später wurde in der Bevölkerung aus dem Tag der Liebenden auch ein Tag der Literatur.

Der 23. April, der Tag des Sant Jordi, des Schutzpatrons von Katalonien, ist heute Tag der Rose und des Buches, Tag der Liebe und Kultur.

Internationaler Tag des Buches und des Urheberrechts

1995 erklärte die UNESCO den 23. April zum Internationalen Tag des Buches der UNESCO und des Urheberrechts. Es soll hier gewürdigt werden, dass das Buch historisch gesehen am meisten zur Verbreitung von Wissen beigetragen hat. Die Verbreitung von Büchern ist eine kulturelle Bereicherung in der ganzen Welt.

Die Geschichte und Legende des Heiligen Georg (Sant Jordi)

Wie bei vielen fest in die Gesellschaft verwurzelten Traditionen weiß man heute nur noch wenig über deren Ursprung. Um die Traditionen am Tag des Sant Jordi zu verstehen, muss man ein wenig in die Geschichten und Legenden, die um den Heiligen Georg ranken, hineintauchen.

Obwohl Georg im Mittelalter in ganz Europa verehrt wurde, weiss man heute über die historische Figur recht wenig. Man ist sich sicher, dass er um 300 als römischer Soldat diente. Er galt als christlicher Märtyrer, der sich nicht gegen seinen Glauben stellte. Der Name "Georgius" bedeutet Bauer, was vielleicht der Grund ist, dass die katholische Lithurgie einen Tag im Frühling als seinen Namenstag auserkoren hat. Er gilt auch als Beschützer der Ernte.

Daneben gilt er auch als Beschützer der Verliebten, was erklärt, dass seit dem 15. Jahrhundert um den Regierungspalast (Generalitat de Catalunya) am Plaça Sant Jaume und in dessen Innenhof  am Tag des Sant Jordi ein großer Rosenmarkt stattfindet.

So wenig von der historischen Figur bekannt ist, so sehr ranken sich die Mythen und Legenden um den katalanischen Schutzpatron. Eine Legende erzählt von seinem sieben Jahre andauernden Martyrium. In den sieben Jahren der Folter legte Sant Jordi nie seinen Glauben ab. Diese Legende erklärt, weshalb Jordi als Heiliger Patron der Ritter des byzantischen Reiches auserwählt wurde. In dieser Zeit wurde er um Hilfe gerufen, um gegen die "Ungläubigen" zu siegen. Neben Katalonien wurde er auch zum Schutzpatron u.a. von England, Georgien, Griechenland und Serbien gewählt.

In der bekanntesten und populärsten Sage wird beschrieben, wie er einen Drachen in dem unendlichen Land Silene besiegte. Dieser Drache vergiftete die Atemluft eines Dorfes. Und um ihn zu besänftigen, opferte man ihm immer ein Lamm und eine Jungfrau, die ausgelost wurde. Eines Tages traf das Los die Prinzessin des Landes, Georg befreite sie und tötete den Drachen. Die Prinzessin und die gesamte Bevölkerung trat zum Christentum über. Seit dem 13. Jahrhundert ist die Szene, in der er auf einem Schimmel reitend mit einer Lanze den Drachen tötete, die am weitesten verbreitete Abbildung von Sant Jordi.

Die Verehrung von Sant Jordi in Katalonien

Seit dem 8. Jahrhundert wird Sant Jordi in Katalonien verehrt. Beweis ist hierfür, dass viele Kapellen und Kirchen ihm zu Ehren geweiht wurden. Auch die Könige verehrten ihn. Jaume I. beschreibt sogar, wie Sant Jordi den Katalanen bei der Eroberung von Mallorca half. Unter dem Schutz von Sant Jordi wurde ein Ritterorden gegründet. Schon seit 1343 wurde in dem katalanischen Land Valencia Sant Jordi gefeiert, auf Mallorca seit 1407. 1456 verabschiedete das katalanische Parlament in der Kathedrale von Barcelona eine Verfassung, in der Sant Jordi als Festtag deklariert wird.
Dass die Verehrung von Sant Jordi in allen Bereichen statt findet, zeigt sich auch am Regierungspalast von Katalonien am Plaça Sant Jaume. Dort wurde im 19. Jahrhundert ein Medaillon von Sant Jordi an der gotischen Fassade angebracht und im Inneren des Gebäudes ihm zu Ehren eine Kapelle errichtet.

Auch an vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten in Barcelona erkennen Sie heute die Verehrung von Sant Jordi. Als Beispiel ist hier das von Gaudí erbaute Casa Batlló genannt, dessen Dach an einen Drachen erinnert.




Tickets El Clásico:

Buchen Sie hier El Clásico-Ticket, das Spiel FC Barcelona vs Real Madrid.

Das Spanische Dorf:

Im Poble Espanyol erleben Sie ganz Spanien in einem riesigen Freilichtmuseum.