You are here: barcelona.de > City info > Barcelona currently > Sant Joan

Sant Joan, St. John's Eve from the night of the 23 to the 24 of June

St. John's Night is short and loud and is widely celebrated

Sant Joan on 24 June, day of St. John, is for many people part of the most important holidays in Barcelona. Two special events are celebrated: St. John's birthday - the patron saint of Catalonia - and the summer solstice, which is the shortest night of the year and the calendric beginning of the summer.

Objections - because the shortest night of the year is on the 20, 21 and 22 of June - do not make a difference, the St. John's Eve is celebrated on June 23 regardless.

When is Sant Joan really? June 23 or 24?

There's two dates that cause confusion: the 23 and 24 of June. The holiday, the non-working day, is on 24 of June, however people celebrate on the 23. It causes confusion sometimes, when everybody celebrates Sant Joan on the 23 but the actual holiday is on the 24th of June. It's really simple once you think about it though, people celebrate the St. John's Eve which means the night of the 23 to the 24 of June. The holiday itself is good for recovery.

The date 24 of June was determined based on the St. Luke's Gospel: six months before Christmas and three months after the Annunciation Day. In the church year of the antique the date of the summer solstice resulted to the 22-24 of June. The reason for the reference to the summer solstice was the quote by John the Baptist "He must increase, I must decrease".

However the modern astronomy was most likely not interested in it, when they determined the 20 to 22 of june to be the shortest nights of the year.

The Sant Joan celebration

This night is loud, really loud! Starting at the beginning of dusk there's fireworks throughout the whole night. That's how demons are supposed to be expelled. You can experience parties in various districts with a large culinary offering - people eat a lot in that night. There's always music and in some places, especially in Barceloneta you can find the fire-spitting Correfoc.

The street parties are usually organised by associations and groups from the districts of the city. That's why their character is quite familiar, even though it usually is crowded. Musicians and DJs take over the stages after the celebrations took place.

Probably the most parties take place within the Old Town district and the district Barceloneta right at the beach. A night without a visit of the city beach would not be the same. You just have to go there!

Even on the hottest days of the peak season the beach isn't as full as it is on Sant Joan. You can dance at every beach bar in Barcelona!

Don't be surprised, there's no big fireworks at 12am, the fireworks are all night long. At 6am, the city cleaning takes over the beach and streets of Barcelona: the beach is getting cleaned with a big equipment and many employees of the city cleaning sweep the paths.

The Sant Joan Day

Barcelona is way different on the day of San Juan: an almost eerie silence dominates the streets, even in the usually loud district Eixample. Every now and then a few people and cars disrupt the silence. Many bars are closed, stores except for a few grocery stores too. You can barely see any taxis in the morning of 24 of June. Usually you can see them everywhere.

Only in the early afternoon the city is revived and you can recognise Barcelona.




Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by e-mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Stadt-Infos > Feste & Veranstaltungen > Sant Joan

Sant Joan, Johannisnacht vom 23. auf 24. Juni

Die Johannisnacht ist kurz und laut und wird ausgiebig gefeiert

Sant Joan am 24. Juni, der Tag des Heiligen Johannis, gehört für viele zu den wichtigsten Feiertagen in Barcelona. Es werden gleich zwei besondere Ereignisse gefeiert: zum einen der Geburtstag des Schutzheiligen von Katalonien - nämlich Sant Joan - und zum anderen die Sommersonnenwende als die kürzeste Nacht des Jahres und kalendarischer Sommerbeginn.

Dabei soll uns der Einwand, dass die kürzeste Nacht am 20., 21. oder 22. Juni ist, nicht weiter stören, gefeiert wird dennoch die Johannisnacht am 23. Juni.

Wann ist denn nun Sant Joan? 23. oder 24. Juni?

Beim Sant Joan in Barcelona begegnet man immer wieder zwei Daten: dem 23. Juni und dem 24. Juni. Der Feiertag, also der arbeitsfreie Tag, ist am 24. Juni, gefeiert wird aber am 23. Juni. Das ist manchmal etwas verwirrend, wenn alle Sant Joan-Feiern am 23. Juni angegeben werden, der Feiertag aber selbst am 24. Juni ist. Es ist aber ganz einfach, wenn man sich bewusst wird, dass im Grunde genommen die Johannisnacht gefeiert wird, also die Nacht vom 23. auf den 24. Juni. Der Feiertag selbst ist dann zum Erholen da.

Festgelegt wurde das Datum 24. Juni anhand von Angaben aus dem Lukasevangeliums (1,26–38 LUT): sechs Monate vor Weihnachten und drei Monate nach der Verkündigung Mariaes. Im Kirchenjahr der Antike ergab sich daraus dann das Datum der Sommersonnenwende (22.-24. Juni). Anlass für den Bezug der Sommersonnenwende war der Spruch von Johannis dem Täufer "Er muss wachsen, ich aber muss abnehmen".

Die moderne Astronomie interessierte das wahrscheinlich wenig, als sie 20.-22. Juni als die kürzeste Nacht ermittelte.

Die Feiern des Sant Joan

Diese Nacht ist laut, sehr laut! Im gesamten Stadtgebiet knallen ab Beginn der Dämmerung die ganze Nacht hindurch Feuerwerkskörper und Raketen steigen gen Himmel. So sollen die Dämonen vertrieben werden. In den Stadtteilen erleben Sie Stadtteilfeste mit einem großen kulinarischen Angebot - es wird viel gegessen in dieser Nacht. Gefeiert wird immer mit Musik. Mancherorts, vor allem im Stadtteil Barceloneta, finden Sie auch die Feuer speienden Correfoc.

Die Straßenfeste werden meist von Vereinen und Gruppen aus den Stadtteilen organisiert und haben so einen recht familiären Charakter, auch wenn doch sehr viel los ist. Nachdem die Feste gefeiert sind, übernehmen Musiker und DJ's die Bühnen und machen Stimmung.

Innerhalb der Altstadt und des Stadtviertels Barceloneta direkt am Strand finden sicher die meisten Feste statt, aber was wäre die Nacht ohne einen Besuch des Stadtstrandes. Sie müssen dort einfach hin!

An keinem Tag im Jahr ist der Strand so voll wie in der Johannisnacht, selbst an den heißesten Tagen der Hochsaison nicht. Allerorten an allen Strandbars können Sie nun tanzen.

Wundern Sie sich nicht: es gibt kein großes Feuerwerk, das pünktlich um 0 Uhr abgefeuert wird. Das Feuerwerk ist die ganze Nacht. Ab 6 Uhr übernimmt dann die Stadtreinigung den Strand und die Straßen von Barcelona: mit großem Gerät wird der Strand gereinigt und unzählige Mitarbeiter der städtischen Straßenreinigung kehren die Wege.

Der Tag des Sant Joan

Wer den Tag des Sant Joan - gemeint ist der 24. Juni - erlebt, der erfährt nun ein ganz anderes Barcelona: eine fast gespenstische Stille herrscht in den Straßen, selbst im doch so lauten Stadtviertel Eixample. Ab und an wird die Stille von einem Auto oder ein paar Menschen unterbrochen. Viele Bars bleiben geschlossen, Geschäfte bis auf ein paar kleine Supermärkte sowieso. Auch die sonst allgegenwärtigen Taxis sieht man nur selten am Morgen des 24. Juni.

Erst am frühen Nachmittag kommt das Leben in die Stadt zurück und Barcelona wird einem wieder vertraut.




Das Spanische Dorf:

Im Poble Espanyol erleben Sie ganz Spanien in einem riesigen Freilichtmuseum.