You are here: barcelona.de > City info > Districts > Ciutat Vella (Old Town) > Sant Pere, Santa Catarina i la Ribera

Sant Pere, Santa Catarina i la Ribera (El Born)


The district with the long name "Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera" consists of three districts: Sant Pere in the upper part, Santa Caterina in the middle and Ribera down to the port side. "La Ribera" is more common locally under the name "El Born".


The District (El Born)

La Ribera is located between the four-lane street Via Leietana on the western side and the Passeig de Picasso or the zoo on the eastern side. To the north, the straight line c/ Princesa and south of the harbor form the boundaries of the district. Like the Gothic District, it has the charm of medieval alleys and squares.

At the time of its founding, the sea reached the point where today the church Santa Maria del Mar is located, so back then the church was built directly by the sea.

History of La Ribera

The central boulevard c/ Montcada was not created during the centuries by gradual population growth, but the road and the surrounding countryside was a gift of Count Ramon Berenguer IV to the merchant Guillem Ramon de Montcada in 1148. The people settled in the new settlement Vilanove de Mar down in front of the city walls of Barcelona.

La Ribera became the richest part of the city in the early 13th century. The Carrer de Montcada, which runs through the district, was the residence of many well-to-do craftsmen and businessmen, who engaged in a lively trade with the entire then known world. Even today, you can see gothic and baroque villas in this once noblest street. The Picasso Museum is now in one of these palaces. Around the c/ Montcada craftsmen of various guilds settled, the street names still bear their names today.

At the beginning of its heyday, the La Llotja Stock Exchange was founded in Ribera in 1392. It is the first trading exchange in Europe.

In the 18th century, a part of Ribera had to give way to the citadel, the trading center shifted to Port Vell. La Ribera experienced a decline until the early 1990s. But today La Ribera or El Born is a trediges district with many trendy pubs, restaurants and bars. The Borne offers an attractive alternative to the shopping areas around Plaza Catalunya. A funky neighborhood in the midst of a great medieval backdrop.

The District Santa Catarina

Santa Maria del Mar

The Santa Maria del mar is one of the most impressive churches in Barcelona. As one of Barcelona's landmarks, it appears like a fortress in the middle of the old town with its monumental towers. It was built in the 14th century in the style of the Catalan Gothic. Especially worth seeing is the interior of the Santa Maria del Mar. There, a remarkable church hall opens up.

The bestseller "The Cathedral of the Sea" by Ildefonso Falcones refers to the construction of this cathedral.

Old market hall

The Old Market "El Born" used to be the wholesale market of Barcelona from the middle / end of the 19th century. The impressive iron structure is located in the center of the neighborhood, near the Rambla del Borne. Underneath the building historical evidence of the city was found, which is why the market hall was reconstructed. Today a cultural centre is located in the building.

Market Santa Caterina

The Central Market Hall de Santa Caterina, built in 1848, was redesigned in 2005 by Enric Miralles, one of the most important modernist architects in Barcelona.

He developed a stunning roof area of the market hall, which can be seen from afar thanks to its colorful colors and unique wave-like construction.

 

Sights in the District Sant Pere, Santa Catarina i la Ribera (El Born)

Picasso Museum

Picasso Museum

Picasso's success story began in Barcelona, but the museum was founded rather late.

More information...

Palau de la Musica Catalana

Palau de la Musica Catalana

The Palau de la Musica Catalana, on the UNESCO list of world cultural heritage, is an impressive concert hall. The construction is the splendour Catalan Art Nouveau (Modernism).

More information...

Santa Maria del Mar

Santa Maria del Mar

The Santa Maria del Mar is a valuable tip for your Barcelona visit. The church is one of Barcelona's landmarks.

More information...

Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) - European Modern Art

Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) - European Modern Art

The MEAM - Museu Europeu d'Art Modern - offers impressive arts. The museum was opened in 2011 in the wonderfully restored Palau Gomis. In changing exhibitions it shows first class art collections from the 20. and 21. century. You can also visit concerts at MEAM.

More information...

Zoo Barcelona

Zoo Barcelona

The about 13 hectare large Parque Zoológico de Barcelona accommodates about 5500 animals of about 400 species. The zoo area is part of the Parc de la Ciutadella, Der etwa 13 Hektar große Parque Zoológico de Barcelona beherbergt etwa 5.500 Tiere aus über 400 Arten. The zoo area is part of the Parc de la Ciutadella, which was used for the 1888 World's Fair before the zoo was opened in September 1892. Here you can book the tickets.

More information...

Arc de Triomf

Arc de Triomf

Built of red bricks in the New Moorish style, the Arc de Triomf rises majestically at the end of the Passeig Lluís Companys. The triumphal arch was built as an entrance to the 1888 World's Fair.

More information...

Parc de la Ciutadella

Parc de la Ciutadella

The Parc de la Ciutadella is one of the largest parks in Barcelona and invites for idyllic strolls, boat trips in the large lake and picknicks. It forms the eastern boundary of El Born.

More information...

Chocolate Museum

Museu de la Xocolata - Chocolate Museum

The Chocolate Museum Museu de la Xocolata is located on the edge of the Borne district. It tells the European history of chocolate from the 16th century, when it was brought to Europe by the Spanish conquerors until today.

More information...

Interesting things about the District Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera (El Born)

The Stock Exchange La Llotja
At the heyday of Ribera from the beginning of the 14th century, the stock exchange was built between 1380 and 1392. It is the oldest trading exchange in Europe. The trading hall is an example of Gothic, it is still preserved today. Over the centuries, the building has been extended and rebuilt, most recently the facades in the classical style. The Casa La Llotja is located on the Pla de Palau. The European history of chocolate from the 16th century, when it was brought to Europe by the Spanish conquerors until today.

Going out in El Born
El Born is a neighborhood full of bars, restaurants and clubs. You can start a pub crawl from the Jaume I metro station and walk along the c/ Argenteria to Santa Maria del Mar. Then right past the church to Passeig del Born to the Mercat del Born, a historic market hall.


Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by e-mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Barcelona > Stadtteile Barcelonas > Ciutat Vella - Altstadt und Zentrum von Barcelona > Sant Pere, Santa Catarina i la Ribera (El Born)

Sant Pere, Santa Catarina i la Ribera (El Born)


Der Stadtteil mit dem etwas umständlich klingenden Namen "Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera" besteht aus drei Stadtvierteln: Sant Pere im oberen Teil, Santa Caterina in der Mitte und Ribera unten zur Hafenseite hin. "La Ribera" ist vor Ort geläufiger unter dem Namen "El Born".

Das Viertel La Ribera (El Born)

La Ribera befindet sich zwischen der vierspurigen Straße Via Leietana auf der westlichen Seite und dem Passeig de Picasso bzw. dem Zoo auf der östlichen Seite. Nördlich bilden die kerzengerade c/ Princesa und südlich der Hafen die Grenzen des Viertels. Es verfügt ebenso wie das Gotische Viertel über den Charme mittelalterlich geprägter Gassen und Plätze.

In der Zeit der Gründung reichte das Meer bis zur Stelle, wo heute die Kirche Santa Maria del Marr steht, die direkt am Meer gebaut worden ist.

Geschichte von La Ribera

Die zentrale Prachtstraße c/Montcada entstand nicht während der Jahrhunderte durch allmählichen Bevölkerungswachstum, sondern die Straße und das Umland war ein Geschenk des Grafen Ramon Berenguer IV. an den Kaufmann Guillem Ramon de Montcada im Jahre 1148. DIe Menschen ließen sich in der neuen Siedlung Siedlung Vilanove de Mar vor den Stadtmauern von Barcelona nieder.

La Ribera entwickelte sich im frühen 13. Jahrhundert zum reichsten Teil der Stadt. Die Carrer de Montcada, die das Viertel durchzieht, war Residenz vieler wohlhabender Handwerker und Geschäftsleute, die einen regen Handel mit der gesamten damals bekannten Welt führten. Noch heute sehen Sie in dieser ehemals nobelsten Straße gotische und barocke Villen. Das Picasso-Museum befindet sich heute in einer dieser Paläste. Um die c/ Montcada siedelten sich Handwerker der verschiedensten Zünfte an, die Straßennamen tragen heute noch deren Namen.

Zu Beginn der Blütezeit wurde in Ribera die Börse La Llotja 1392 gegründet.  Es ist die erste Handelsbörse in Europa.

Im 18. Jahrhundert musste ein Teil von Ribera der Zitadelle weichen, das Handelszentrum verlagerte sich zum Port Vell. La Ribera erlebte einen Niedergang bis zu den frühen 1990er Jahre. Heute aber ist La Ribera bzw. El Born ein trediges Viertel mit vielen angesagten Kneipen, Restaurants und Bars. Das Borne bietet eine attraktive Alternative zu den Shoppingmeilen rund um den Plaza Catalunya. Ein abgefahrenes Viertel inmitten einer großartigen mittelalterlichen Kulisse.

Das Viertel Santa Catarina

 

Santa Maria del Mar

Die Santa Maria del mar ist eine der beeindruckendsten Kirchen Barcelonas. Sie ist eines der Wahrzeichen von Barcelona, die inmitten der Altstadt mit ihren monumentalen Türmen wie eine Festung erscheint. Erbaut wurde sie im 14. Jahrhundert im Stil der katalanischen Gotik. Sehenswert ist besonders das Innere der Santa Maria del Mar. Dort eröffnet sich ein bemerkenswerter Kirchensaal.

Der Bestseller „Die Kathedrale des Meeres“ von Ildefonso Falcones bezieht sich auf den Bau dieser Kathedrale.

Alte Markthalle

Der Alte Markt „El Born“ war ab Mitte/Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts Großmarkt von Barcelona. Die beeindruckende Eisenkonstruktion befindet sich im Zentrum des Viertels, nahe der Rambla del Borne. Unter dem Bauwerk fand man historische Zeugnisse der Stadt, zurzeit ist der Markt im Umbau. Hier soll ein Kulturzentrum entstehen.

Markt Santa Caterina

Die zentral gelegene Markthalle de Santa Caterina aus dem Jahre 1848, wurde im Jahre 2005 von einem der bedeutendsten Architekten der Moderne in Barcelona Enric Miralles umgestaltet.

Er entwickelte eine atemberaubende Dachfläche der Markthalle, die durch ihre bunten Farben und einzigartige wellenförmige Konstruktion schon von weitem zu sehen ist.

Pablo Picasso Museum

Picasso Museum

Nicht nur wegen der umfangreichen Sammlung aus der Anfangszeit des spanischen Künstlers ist dieses Museum einen Besuch wert, sondern auch das Gebäude, in dem das Museum untergebracht ist, lohnt sich zu besichtigen. Dieses ist ein ehemaliger Stadtpalast wurde eigens für das Museum umgebaut.

Weitere Informationen...
Adresse: Barcelona

Palau de la Música Catalana

Palau de la Música Catalana

Der Palau de la Música Catalana, auf der UNESCO-Liste der Weltkulturerbe, ist ein beeindruckender Konzertsaal. Am Bau zeigt sich die ganze Pracht katalanischen Jugendstils (Modernisme).

Weitere Informationen und buchen...
Adresse: Barcelona

Santa Maria del Mar, eines der schönsten gotischen Gebäude in Barcelona

Santa Maria del Mar

Die Santa Maria del Mar ist ein Top-Tipp für den Barcelona-Besuch. Die Kirche ist eines der Wahrzeichen von Barcelona.

Weitere Informationen und buchen...
Adresse: Barcelona
Bus Turístic: Pla de Palau

Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) - Europäische moderne Kunst

Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) - Europäische moderne Kunst

Das MEAM - Museu Europeu d'Art Modern - bietet beeindruckende moderne Kunst. Das Juni 2011 eröffnete Museum ist im wundervoll renovierten Palau Gomis beherbergt. Es zeigt in wechselnden Ausstellungen erstklassige Sammlungen bildender Kunst aus dem 20. und 21. Jahrhundert.

Weitere Informationen...
Adresse: Barra de Ferro, 5
Metro: Jaume I. (L4)  
Bus Turístic: Pla de Palau

Zoo von Barcelona

Zoo von Barcelona

Der etwa 13 Hektar große Parque Zoológico de Barcelona beherbergt etwa 5.500 Tiere aus über 400 Arten. Das Zoogelände ist Teil des Parc de la Ciutadella, dessen Areal vor der Eröffnung des Zoos im September 1892 für die Weltausstellung von 1888 genutzt wurde

Weitere Informationen...

Arc de Triomf

Arc de Triomf

Der aus roten Backsteinen im neu-maurischen Stil erbaute Arc de Triomf erhebt sich majestätisch am Ende des Passeig Lluís Companys. Der Triumpfbogen wurde als Eingang zur Weltausstellung 1888 gebaut.

Weitere Informationen und buchen...

Schokoladenmuseum

Schokoladenmuseum

Das Schokoladenmuseum Museu de la Xocolata befindet sich am Rand des Borbne-Viertels. Es erzählt die europäische Geschichte der Schokolade ab dem 16. Jahrhundert, als sie von den spanischen Eroberern nach Europa gebracht wurde bis heute.

Weitere Informationen...


Interessantes zum District Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera (El Born)

Die Börse La Llotja
Zur Blütezeit von Ribera ab Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts wurde die Börse zwischen 1380 und 1392 gebaut. Es ist erste älteste Handelsbörse Europas. Der Handelssaal ist ein Beispiel der Gotik, er ist heute noch original erhalten. Im Laufe der Jahrhunderte wurde der Bau erweitert und umgebaut, zuletzt die Fassaden im klassizistischen Stil. Das Casa La Llotja befindet sich am Pla de Palau.

Ausgehen in La Ribera
La Ribera ist ein Viertel voller Bars, Restaurants und Clubs. Sie können von der Metrostation Jaume I. eine Kneipentour starten und entlang der C/Argenteria zur Santa Maria del Mar gehen. Dann rechts an der Kirche vorbei zum Passeig del Born bis zum Mercat del Born, eine historische Markthalle.




Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Das erste Gebäude Gaudís eröffnet:

Gaudís erster großer Entwurf eines Gebäudes kann nun besichtigt werden. Hier Tickets für das Casa Vicens.