You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Museums > MEAM

Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) - European Modern Art

First-class collections of modern art from the 20th and 21st century

If you are interested in stunning modern art then you should definitely include the MEAM - the Museu Europeu d'Art Modern - in your visit plan. The museum, housed in the beautifully renovated Palau Gomis, displays changing exhibitions and more than 1,700m² of space - first-class collections of 20th and 21st-century modern fine arts.


Highlights of Concerts at MEAM and Our Admission Tickets

  • Concert of talented artists in beautiful atmosphere
  • Admission to museum and a drink (classical concert)
  • Ticket with free time selection
Highlights

Highlights Concerts at MEAM

  • Admission to the classical concert on Saturday evening or admission to the Blues, Swing and Related Styles concert on Friday evening at MEAM
  • Admission to the museum; we recommend to schedule about 1.5 hours before the concert
  • Drinks (only at classical concert)

Services Ticket MEAM

  • Admission to the museum MEAM, you can stay as long as you like during the opening hours
  • No time selection required
Times

Opening Hours of the Museum

  • Tuesday to Sunday: 10:00-20:00
  • Closed on Mondays
  • Closed: January 1 and December 25 and December 26

Times Concerts at MEAM

  • Blues, Swing and Related Styles Concert: Fridays at 18:00
  • Classical Concert: Saturdays at 18:00
  • No concerts on January 1 and December 25 and December 26

Programme Preview Concerts

Booking

Booking Information

  • Booking is easy: choose the product (classical or blues concert, admission to the museum), enter the desired number of tickets and choose the date you would like to book for
  • Please click on "Add to cart"
  • You will receive a booking confirmation by e-mail within 48 hours with the voucher, which is considered a ticket
  • If you book the admission without a concert, you will receive the voucher immediately after booking
  • Along with the booking confirmation you will receive detailed directions
  • If an event is fully booked, you will receive a message from us and your money will be refunded immediately
Cancellation

Cancellation Policy Concerts

  • You can cancel free of charge up to 48 hours before the event
  • Later cancellations, no shows or changes to the program will not be refunded

Cancellation Policy Admission

  • You can cancel the booked admission up to six weeks after the booking, provided that the voucher has not yet been redeemed, at the latest however until the 15th of January of the following year.

The Museum MEAM

The Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) was newly opened in June 2011 in the lovingly restored Palau Gomis. Without a doubt, the Museum of Modern Art of Europe is one of the most successful new openings in Barcelona's diverse museum landscape.

The presentation of the collections of European modern art of the 20th and 21st centuries is unique: the more than 250 years of history that the venerable walls have experienced seem to be in contrast to the modern art it houses. Nevertheless, the presentation of the collections gives the impression that the old and the modern belong together here and form a unity, even a symbiosis.

MEAM does not exhibit abstract art. The museum and the exhibiting artists are attached to the figurative art movements. The range of the exhibited works is wide: it ranges from paintings, sculptures, photographs and drawings and the artists pick up on modern and current topics such as wars, social criticism and also religious topics.

The Foundation for the Promotion of Performing Arts

The MEAM is run by the Fundació de les Arts i els Artistes, a privately funded foundation. Their purpose is to promote the performing arts of the 20th and 21st centuries. The claim of the MEAM is the realization of a new and contemporary language, which does not deny traditions and dares to leap forward into the 21st century.

Part of the special concept of the private foundation is that the artists support the museum and have room for their works. The background to this are the consequences of the economic and financial crisis, which made the financial benefits scarce.

Surroundings of MEAM

The Building

The narrow alleyway in which the Renaissance building is located seems to pass seamlessly into the approximately 10-metres-high and elegant entrance hall of the house. From there, a noble staircase leads to the first floor of the exhibition space in the Belle Etage of the house.

This first exhibition, "Modern Art of the XXI. Century", presented at the MEAM on three floors, shows photorealistic paintings and remarkable sculptures. It pays homage to all those artists who have come to work for the museum and now hope that their work will continue and will be recognized in the world. We are sure that they will succeed!

You will find the MEAM in Carrer Barra de Ferro, 5, a few steps from the Picasso Museum in the district El Borne. On the ground floor there is a café and a small museum shop offering merchandising items with motifs from the exhibition.

Why the MEAM is Worth Visiting

The Museu Europeu d'Art Modern is definitely worth a visit, even for people who are less inclined to modern art. The building has a very wonderful atmosphere, which is transmitted to the visitors: the art is presented in a modern way, but the building is hundreds of years old and has a venerable aura of tranquility and beauty. The art itself is impressive: looking at the works shown in the permanent exhibition one could assume that these are photos. But they are all paintings - photorealism, as you can not see it otherwise.

The concerts are a wonderful evening event with young and talented artists. The concert price includes admission to the museum, it is worth it to arrive about 1.5 hours before the concert in order to have some time for looking around.

Classical Concerts at MEAM

The classical concerts at MEAM start at 18:00 on Saturdays.

Live Classic Concert at MEAM

Blues-, Swing- and Related Style Concerts at MEAM

The Blues-, Swing- and related style concerts at MEAM take place on Fridays at 18:00.

Blues, Swing and related style concerts at MEAM

 

The Damned Hellbillies at MEAM (Friday's Blues)


Book the Saturday Evening Classical Concert at MEAM Including Admission to the Museum

Please enter the date and number of tickets
Saturday Classic concert including visit to the museum and drink, 18:00 Desired quantity
Adults 19.00€
Children until 9 years, students, retired 15.00€


Important information

Address
Barra de Ferro, 5
Phone: +34 934 186 891
www.meam.es

Arrival
Metro: Jaume I. (L4)
Bus Turístic: Pla de Palau

The concerts in MEAM

Every Friday and Saturday, you can see the MEAM concerts with young and extremely talented artists: Fridays blues concerts and Saturday classical music concerts, each at 18:00. The ticket price includes admission to the museum.



Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by e-mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Sehenswürdigkeiten > Museen > MEAM

Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM)

Erstklassige Sammlung europäischer moderner Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts - hier Eintritt und Konzerte buchen

Wenn Sie an beeindruckender moderner Kunst interessiert sind, dann sollten Sie das MEAM - das Museu Europeu d'Art Modern - unbedingt in Ihren Besuchsplan mit aufnehmen. Das im wundervoll renovierten Palau Gomis beherbergte Museum zeigt in wechselnden Ausstellungen und auf über 1.700m² Fläche - erstklassige Sammlungen moderner bildender Kunst aus dem 20. und 21. Jahrhundert.


Highlights der Konzerte im MEAM und unserer Tickets für den Eintritt

  • Ticket mit freier Zeitwahl
  • Konzert junger und talentierter Künstler in einem wunderschönen Ambiente
  • Eintritt in das Museum und ein Getränk (beim Klassik-Konzert)
Leistungen

Leistungen Eintritt Ticket MEAM

  • Eintritt in das Museum MEAM
  • Sie können während der Öffnungszeiten so lange bleiben, wie Sie möchten
  • Keine Zeitauswahl erforderlich

Leistungen Konzerte im MEAM

  • Eintritt für das Klassik Konzert am Samstagabend bzw. Eintritt für das Blues-, Swing and Related Styles Konzert am Freitagabend im MEAM
  • Eintritt in das Museum. Wir empfehlen hier ca. 1,5 Stunden Zeit vor dem Konzert einzuplanen
  • Getränk (nur beim Klassik-Konzert)
Zeiten

Öffnungszeiten des Museums

  • Dienstag bis Sonntag: 10-20:00 Uhr
  • Montags geschlossen
  • Geschlossen: 1. Januar und 25. und 26. Dezember

Zeiten Konzerte im MEAM

  • Blues-, Swing- and Related Styles-Konzert: freitags um 18:00 Uhr
  • Klassik-Konzert: samstags um 18:00 Uhr
  • Keine Konzerte am 1. Januar und 25. und 26. Dezember

Programmvorschau Konzerte

Buchung
  • Die Buchung ist ganz einfach: wählen Sie das Produkt aus (Klassik- oder Blues-Konzert, Eintritt in das Museum) und geben die Anzahl der gewünschten Tickets und das Datum an
  • Klicken Sie dann bitte auf "Zum Warenkorb hinzufügen"
  • Sie erhalten innerhalb von 48 Stunden eine Buchungsbestätigung per E-Mail mit dem Voucher, der als Ticket gilt
  • Buchen Sie den Eintritt ohne Konzert, dann erhalten Sie den Voucher unmittelbar nach der Buchung
  • Zusammen mit der Buchungsbestätigung erhalten Sie eine ausführliche Wegbeschreibung
  • Sollte eine Veranstaltung ausgebucht sein, erhalten Sie von uns eine Nachricht und umgehend Ihr Geld erstattet
Stornierung

Stornierungsbedingungen Eintritt

  • Sie können die Buchung bis sechs Wochen nach der Buchung stornieren, sofern der Voucher noch nicht eingelöst wurde, längstens bis zum 15. Januar des Folgejahres

Stornierungsbedingungen Konzerte

  • Sie können bis 48 Stunden vor der Veranstaltung kostenfrei stornieren
  • Bei einer späteren Stornierung, bei Nichterscheinen oder bei Änderungen im Programm erfolgt keine Erstattung

Das Museum MEAM

Das Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) wurde Juni 2011 im liebevoll sanierten Palau Gomis neu eröffnet. Zweifelsohne zählt das Museum der Modernen Kunst Europas zu den besonders gelungenen Neueröffnungen in der vielfältigen Museumslandschaft Barcelonas.

Die Präsentation der Sammlungen moderner europäischer Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts ist einzigartig: die über 250 Jahre Geschichte, die das ehrwürdige Gemäuer schon erlebt hat steht scheinbar im Gegensatz zur modernen Kunst, die es beherbergt. Trotzdem vermittelt die Präsentation der Sammlungen den Eindruck, dass das Alte und das Moderne hier zusammen gehören und eine Einheit, ja sogar eine Symbiose bilden.

Im MEAM wird keine Abstrakte Kunst ausgestellt. Das Museum und die ausstellenden Künstler sind den figurativen Kunstrichtungen zugetan. Die Bandbreite der ausgestellten Werke ist breit: Malereien, Skulpturen, Fotografien und Zeichnungen und die Künstler greifen dabei moderne und aktuelle Themen wie Kriege, Gesellschaftskritik und auch religiöse Themen auf.

Die Stiftung zur Förderung darstellender Künste

Das MEAM wird von der "Fundació de les Arts i els Artistes", einer privat finanzierten Stiftung betrieben. Deren Zweck ist die Förderung der darstellenden Künste des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Der Anspruch des MEAM ist die Verwirklichung einer neuen und zeitgemäßen Sprache, die aber Traditionen nicht verleugnet und dabei den Sprung nach vorne in das 21. Jahrhundert wagt.

Zum besonderen Konzept der privaten Stiftung gehört es, dass die Künstler das Museum unterstützen und dafür Raum für ihre Werke zur Verfügung gestellt bekommen. Hintergrund hierfür sind die Folgen der Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrise, die die finanziellen Zuwendungen knapp werden ließ.

Das Gebäude

Die schmale Gasse, in der sich das Renaissance-Gebäude befindet geht scheinbar nahtlos in die etwa 10 Meter hohe und elegante Eingangshalle des Hauses über. Von dort führt eine edle Treppe zum 1. Stock der Ausstellungsfläche in die Belle Etage des Hauses.

Diese erste Ausstellung, "Moderne Kunst des XXI. Jahrhunderts", die das MEAM auf drei Etagen zeigt präsentiert fotorealistische Gemälde und bemerkenswerte Skulpturen. Sie ist eine Hommage an all jene Künstler, die gekommen sind um für das Museum zu arbeiten und nun darauf hoffen, dass sich Ihre Arbeiten fortsetzen und in der Welt Anerkennung finden werden. Wir sind sicher, dass dies gelingt!

Sie finden das MEAM in der Carrer Barra de Ferro, 5, nur wenige Schritte vom Picasso-Museum entfernt im El Borne-Viertel. Im Erdgeschoss befindet sich ein Café und ein kleiner Museumsshop, in dem Merchandising-Artikel mit Motiven aus der Ausstellung angeboten werden.

Warum ein Besuch des MEAM lohnt

Das Museu Europeu d'Art Modern ist auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert - auch für Menschen, die mit moderner Kunst eher weniger anfangen können. Das Gebäude hat eine wunderbare Atmosphäre, die sich auf die Besucher überträgt: die Kunst wird modern präsentiert, das Gebäude ist aber hunderte Jahre alt und hat eine ehrwürdige Ausstrahlung von Ruhe und Schönheit. Die Kunst selbst beeindruckt: bei den in der ständigen Ausstellung gezeigten Werken könnte man vermuten, dass es sich um Fotos handelt. Aber es sind alles Gemälde - Fotorealismus, wie man ihn sonst nicht zu sehen bekommt.

Die Konzerte sind eine wunderbare Abendveranstaltung mit jungen und hoch begabten Künstlern. Im Konzertpreis ist der Eintritt in das Museum enthalten, es lohnt sich, ca. 1,5 Stunden vor dem Konzert zu erscheinen.

Klassik-Konzerte im MEAM

Die Klassik-Konzerte im MEAM beginnen samstags um 18:00 Uhr.

Live Classic Concert im MEAM

Blues-, Swing- and Related Styles-Konzerte im MEAM

Die Blues-, Swing- and Related Styles-Konzerte im MEAM finden immer freitags um 18:00 Uhr statt.

Blues, Swing and Related Styles Concerts im MEAM

 

The Damned Hellbillies at MEAM (Friday's Blues)


Tickets für den Eintritt in das MEAM hier buchen

  • Voucher für einen Eintritt direkt per E-Mail
  • Keine Zeitvorwahl nötig

Bitte geben Sie die Anzahl der gwünschten Tickets an.

2018 - Eintritt Museu Europeu d'Art Modern (MEAM) Gewünschte Anzahl
Erwachsene 9,00€
Senioren 65+, Menschen mit Behinderungen 7,00€
Schüler und Studenten 7,00€


Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Adresse
Barra de Ferro, 5
Telefon: +34 934 186 891
www.meam.es

Anreise
Metro: Jaume I. (L4)
Bus Turístic: Pla de Palau

Die Konzerte im MEAM

Jeden Freitag und Samstag finden im MEAM Konzerte mit jungen und äusserst talentierten Künstlern statt: freitags Blues-Konzerte und samstags Klassik-Konzerte, jeweils um 18:00 Uhr. Im Ticketpreis ist der Eintritt zum Museum enthalten, am Samstag sind zudem die Getränke frei.



Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Das Spanische Dorf:

Im Poble Espanyol erleben Sie ganz Spanien in einem riesigen Freilichtmuseum.