You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Parks and squares > Via Sepulcral Romana - Roman cemetery of the 1st - 3rd century

Via Sepulcral Romana - Roman cemetery of the 1st - 3rd century

Great insight of living and dying in the Roman Barcino

The Via Sepulcral Romana is a cemetery from the Roman Age. The Roman law forbad funerals inside of the city walls from the 1st until the 3rd century. That's why the necropole was established outside of the city walls of Barcino, the former name of Barcelona.

The necropole, located on the Plaça de la Vila Madrid today, was build along a path, which led from today's district Sarrià to the western portal of the Cardo Maximus. The Cardo Maximus is one of the two main axles of Barcino and leads from east wo west. The main axle leading from north to south is called Decumanus Maximus. You can find this pattern a lot in Roman settlements.
The former Cardo Maximus is vaguely the c/ Boqueria today, that leads to Plaça de Jaume, even though the Roman course of the road is not adequate to the one of the gothic. The Plaça de Jaume is the intersection of Cardo and Decumanus.

The Roman Barcino

In Barcelona you can see the largest Roman excavations outside of Rome. At the museum of the city's history you can see that the grave stones were used to build the city walls. 

Museu d'Història de la Ciutat - The museum of Barcelona's history

Especially people of the middle and under class (slaves and freedmen) were laid to rest in the burial ground of Via Sepulcral. Altogether 85 graves with the remains of more than 200 people are known, howerver only one part was laid open or is preserved and open for visitaion today.

On both sides of the Roman funeral path several funerary monuments are located without a regular arrangement: altars, stelae and especially cupae - half circled grave stones, which remind of wooden barrels and which are very typical for Roman funerals. The cemetery on the Plaça Villa de Madrid was used from the 1st until the 3rd century. In the following decades the cemetery vanished under fluvial sediments, that saved the monuments from decomposing. We have to thank this natual preservation for having the Via Sepulcral as one of the best preserved Roman necropoles. Funerary monuments at different places were used for the construction of the Roman city walls in the 4th century.

When the medieval and modern city evolved, a Carmelite monestary was established on the fluviatile sediments in 1588. After the monestary was demolished in the civil war, the area was modified into a square. During groundwork in 1956, the cemetery was discovered. Further discoveries followed in 1959. The renovation of the square and of the graves was finished in 2010, even the little park was designed the way it was supposed to look about 2.000 years ago.

The necropole at the Via Sepicral is not part of Barcelona's most spectacular sights. However it gives a substantial insight of living and dying in the Roman Barcino. A little museum represents this desciptively.


Important information

Address
Pla├ža Vila de Madrid
Phone: +34 932 562 100

Arrival
Metro: Catalunya (L1, L3, C1, L7, S1, S55, L6)
Bus Turístic: Pla├ža Catalunya

Opening times
Tue. to Fri., 11:00 to 14:00; Sat. and Sun. 11:00 to 19:00. Closed Mondays.
Closed: 1 Jan., 1 May, 24 June and 25 Dec.


Admission
Standard ticket: 2 ÔéČ
Concessions: 1,5 ÔéČ for people under 29, over 65, and holders of Barcelona library cards, targeta rosa redu├»da, large family cards and single-parent family cards and groups over 10 people.
Entrance without charge: children under 16, holders of targeta rosa gratuïta and Barcelona Card, members of ICOM and Catalan Museologist Association, tourist guides, accredited journalists, assistants for disabled people and secondary school teachers. Entrance free to all on the first Sunday of the month; all other Sundays free after 15:00.

Die Via Sepulcral Romana



Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by E-Mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Barcelona > Parks & Plätze > Via Sepulcral Romana - Römischer Friedhof des 1. bis 3. Jahrhunderts

Via Sepulcral Romana - Römischer Friedhof des 1. bis 3. Jahrhunderts

Bedeutender Einblick in das Leben und Sterben im römischen Barcino

Die Via Sepulcral Romana ist eine Grabstätte aus der Römerzeit. Das römische Recht des 1. bis 3. Jahrhundert verbot Beerdigungen innerhalb der Stadtbegrenzungen, so dass die Nekropole außerhalb der Stadtmauern von Barcino, wie Barcelona bei den Römern hieß, angelegt wurde.

Die Nekropole auf dem heutigen Plaça de la Vila Madrid wurde entlang eines Weges angelegt, welcher vom heutigen Stadtteil Sarrià zum westlichen Tor des Cardo Maximus führte. Der Cardo Maximus ist einer der beiden Hauptachsen von Barcino, der in Ost-West-Richtung verläuft. Die in Nord-Süd-Richtung verlaufende Hauptachse ist der Decumanus Maximus. Dieses Schema findet sich oft in römischen Siedlungen.
Der frühere Cardo Maximus ist heute in etwa die c/ Boqueria, die zum Plaça Sant Jaume führt, wenn auch der römische Straßenverlauf nicht mehr ganz dem der Gotik entspricht, wie die Straßen heute noch verlaufen. Der Plaça Sant Jaume ist der Kreuzungspunkt von Cardo und Decumanus.

Das römische Barcino

In Barcelona finden Sie die größten römischen Ausgrabungen außerhalb Roms. Im Museum der Stadtgeschichte können Sie auch die Verwendung der Grabsteine zum Bau der Stadtmauer sehen.

Im Gräberfeld der Via Sepulcral wurden vor allem Personen der Mittel- und unteren Schicht (Sklaven und Freigelassene) beigesetzt. Insgesamt sind 85 Gräber mit Überresten von über 200 Personen bekannt, jedoch nur ein Teil wurde freigelegt bzw. ist noch erhalten und heute zu besichtigen.

Beidseitig des römischen Begräbnis-Weges befinden sich verschiedenste Grabdenkmäler ohne eine regelmäßige Anordnung: Altäre, Stelen und insbesondere die Cupae - halbkreisförmige Grabsteine, die Holzfässer ähneln und sehr typisch für römische Bestattungen sind. Die Grabfläche auf dem Plaça Vila de Madrid wurde vom 1. bis 3. Jahrhundert genutzt. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten verschwand das Gräberfeld unter Flusssedimenten, die die Monumente vor der Verwitterung schützten. Diese natürliche Konservierung verdanken wir, das die Via Sepulcral zu einer der am besten erhaltenen römischen Nekropolen gehört. Grabdenkmäler an anderen Orten wurden im 4. Jahrhundert für den Bau der römischen Stadtmauer verwendet.

Als sich die mittelalterliche und moderne Stadt entwickelte, wurde auf den Flußablagerungen 1588 ein Karmeliter-Kloster errichtet. Nach der Zerstörung des Klosters während des Bürgerkriegs sollte das Gelände zu einem Platz umgestaltet werden. Bei Erdarbeiten wurde dann das Gräberfeld 1956 entdeckt. Weitere Entdeckungen folgten 1959. Die Renovierung des Platzes und der Gräber wurde 2010 abgeschlossen, auch die kleine Parkanlage wurde so gestaltet, wie sie vor etwa 2.000 Jahren ausgesehen haben soll.

Die Nekropole an der Via Sepilcral gehört nicht zu den spektakulärsten Sehenswürdigkeiten Barcelonas. Sie gibt aber einen sehr bedeutenden Einblick in das Leben - und Sterben - im römischen Barcino. Ein kleines Museum stellt das anschaulich dar.


Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Adresse
Plaça Vila de Madrid
Telefon: +34 932 562 100

Anreise
Metro: Catalunya (L1, L3, C1, L7, S1, S55, L6)
Bus Turístic: Plaça Catalunya

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag Di. bis Fr.: 11:00 bis 14:00 Uhr
Sa. und So.: 11:00 bis 19:00 Uhr.
Geschlossen am: 1. Jan., 1. Mai, 24. Juni und 25. Dez.

Eintrittspreise
Regulär: 2,00 €
Ermäßigt: 1,50 € (unter 29, über 65 und Gruppen über 10 Personen)
Freier Eintritt: unter 16, mit Barcelona Card, Begleitpersonen für Behinderte. Erster Sonntag im Monat, andere Sonntage ab 15:00 Uhr

Hinweis zum Besuch der Nekropole

Mit der Barcelona Card haben Sie freien Eintritt.

Die Via Sepulcral Romana



Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Das erste Gebäude Gaudís eröffnet:

Gaudís erster großer Entwurf eines Gebäudes kann nun besichtigt werden. Hier Tickets für das Casa Vicens.