You are here: > Attractions > Buildings in Barcelona > Monestir de Pedralbes - Monastery of Pedralbes

Monestir de Pedralbes - Monastery of Pedralbes

One of the finest example of Catalan Gothic

The monastery of Pedralbes, in Catalan Monestir de Pedralbes, is one of the most beautiful buildings of the Catalan Gothic in Barcelona. The building from the early 14th century shows the everyday life of nuns. Religious art from the 14th to the 20th century is displayed in the monastery museum.
Highlights are the three-storey cloister and the park inside the monastery.

The monastery was founded by Queen Elisenda de Montcada. Her husband, King Jacob II (Jaume II), supported her and dedicated the monastery to Holy Mary. Ever since, it has been administered by the nuns of the Order of Saint Clare.

The construction of the Monestir de Pedralbes

The construction work of the monastery started in March 1326. Queen Elisenda chose its location in the village of Sarrià, which back then was far out of the city of Barcelona. The name "Pedralbes" derives from the Latin Petras Albas (white stones), a white stone is the cornerstone of the apsis. On May 3, 1327 the nuns moved into the monastery.

Interesting for the visit of Monestir de Pedralbes

  • The blue line of the Bus Turìstic stops at 100 metres away from the Monastery of Pedralbes.
  • You have free admission with the Barcelona Card.

Since the monastery was built within just one year, it was not influenced by any other architectural styles and is a fine example of particularly homogeneous gothic architecture in Catalonia.
It was not before the 15th century that the third and lowest storey was added to the cloister.

Visiting today's monastery

On the eastern side, the church with one nave is located. Inside the church, on the right side next to a presbytery - a choir which is only accessible by the clergy - the tomb of Queen Elisenda is located. There is something particular about Queen Elisenda's tomb: the sarcophagus is double-sided. On the cloister side Elisenda is figured as a mourning widow, on the church side as a queen.

There is no direct entry to the interior of the monastery from the church. The entrance is located only a few steps away from the church. You can enter the cloister from there. It is recommended to follow the route that leads through the monastery in an anticlockwise direction.

The first interesting sight is the small St. Michael's chapel on the right-hand side by the church wall. Its frescoes from 1343 depict scenes from the lives of Jesus and Mary. Note the three-dimensional quality of the frescoes that remind of the Italian painter Giotto, who was considered the first modern painter.

The next room in the cloister contains the tomb of Queen Elisenda mentioned above. On this side you'll find more tombs of Reverend Mothers who lived in this monastery.

On the north side of the cloister, there are several utility rooms, the nuns' day cells and the staircase to the second floor, half of those can be visited. The third floor is closed to the public.

The museum is housed in the former dormitory of the monastery. In a tour you can marvel at pieces of religious art as well as everyday objects of the monastery dating from the 14th to the 20th century. In the middle cloister there are several tiny cells in which the nuns used to pray.

Walking downstairs from the museum, you can continue the monastery tour through the lower cloister. On the west side, there are utility rooms, such as the dining hall and the kitchen, and in the basement the monastery's store rooms are located. One of the store rooms contains a series of dioramas of religious scenes which depict the life history of Jesus.

The gardens of the Monastery of Pedralbes

The monastery certainly wouldn't be as beautiful and impressive without its park in the courtyard. You won't find a quieter place in all Barcelona - except for the birds singing in the trees and the gurgling of the Renaissance fountain in the centre of the courtyard you won't hear a sound.

Large palm trees and cypresses provide cool shade. From the lower cloister, there are several ways to the gardens.

Sisterhood of the Order of Saint Clare

In 1212, Clare of Assisi joined Francis of Assisi's Dominican Order and soon founded the Order of Saint Clare, later also dubbed the "Second Order" of the Franciscans.
The Order of Saint Clare still administers the monastery. Today, the nuns live in a more modern annexe.

Tips for the visit of the Monestir de Pedralbes

If you are in Barcelona in the summer, you should visit the monastery during the midday heat. Inside the church and the monastery and in the gardens it is pleasantly cool.

Important information

Baixada del Monestir, 9
Phone: +34 932 563 434

Metro: Reina Elisenda (FGC R6)
Bus Turistic: Monestir de Pedralbes

Opening times
1 Apr.- 30 Sep.:
Tu.-Fr.: 10-17.00
Sa: 10-19.00
Sun: 10-20.00
Holidays: 10-14.00
1 Oct.- 31 Mar:
Tu.-Fr.: 10-14.00
Sa.-So.: 10-17.00
Holidays: 10-14.00
Closed on the following days:
1 Jan., 1 May, 24 June, 25 Dec.

Regular: € 7.00, reduced: € 5.00
Free admission with the Barcelona Card.

Tips for the visit of the Monastery of Pedralbes

If you are in Barcelona in summer, you can visit the Monastery of Pedralbes during the midday heat. In the church, the monastery and the garden it is pleasantly cool.

The gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Barcelona > Bauwerke in Barcelona > Monestir de Pedralbes - Kloster von Pedralbes

Monestir de Pedralbes - Kloster von Pedralbes

Eines der schönsten Klöster der katalanischen Gotik

Das Kloster von Pedralbes bzw. Monestir de Pedralbes gehört sicher zu den schönsten Bauwerken der katalanischen Gotik in Barcelona. In der im frühen 14. Jahrhundert erbauten Anlage wird das Alltagsleben der Nonnen gezeigt, im Museum des Klosters von Pedralbes werden Objekte der kirchlichen Kunst vom 14. bis 20. Jahrhundert ausgestellt.
Besonders schön sind vor allem auch der dreigeschossige Kreuzgang und die Gartenanlage im Inneren des Klosters.

Das Kloster wurde von Königin Elisenda de Montcada gegründet. Unterstützt wurde sie von Ihrem Mann König Jakob II. (Jaume II.), der das Kloster der Heiligen Maria widmen ließ. Seitdem wird das Kloster von Nonnen der Schwesternschaft der Klarissinnen bewirtschaftet.

Der Bau von Monestir de Pedralbes

Die Bauarbeiten der Klostergebäude begannen im März 1326. Der Ort innerhalb des Dorfes Sarrià, damals noch weit außerhalb der Stadtmauern von Barcelona, wurde von Königin Elisenda ausgewählt. Als Grundstein für die Apsis dient ein weißer Stein. Der Name "Pedralbes" leitet sich aus dem Lateinischem Petras Albas (weiße Steine) ab. Am 3. Mai 1327 zogen die Nonnen in das Kloster ein.

Das Ergebnis der kurzen Bauzeit von nur einem Jahr ist ein besonders einheitliches und harmonisches Beispiel der gotischen Baukunst in Katalonien, keine anderen architektonischen Stilrichtungen hier hier während der Bauphase auf die Architekten. Erst im 15. Jahrhundert wurder dritte und niedrigste Stock des Kreuzgangs hinzugefügt.

Besichtigung des Kloster von Pedralbes heute

An der östlichen Seite befindet sich die einschiffige Kirche. In dieser finden Sie auf der rechten Seite neben einem Presbyterium, einem dem Klerus vorbehaltenen Chorraum, das Grab der Königin Elisenda, welches eine Besonderheit aufweist: der Sarkophag ist auf kuriose Weise zweigeteilt. Der zum Kreuzgang weisende Teil zeigt die Königin als trauernde Witwe, der in der Kirche liegende Teil zeigt Elisenda als Königin.

Interessantes zum Besuch Monestir de Pedralbes

  • Die blaue Linie des Bus Turìstic hält 100 Meter vom Kloster Pedralbes entfernt.
  • Mit der Barcelona Card Freien Eintritt zum Kloster Pedralbes.

Von der Kirche aus gibt es keinen direkten Zugang zum Inneren des Klosters. Der Eingang befindet sich wenige Meter neben der Kirche. Von dort betreten Sie den Kreuzgang. Sinnvoll ist es sicher den Rundgang zu wählen, der im Gegenuhrzeigersinn durch die Klosteranlage führt.

Die erste Sehenswürdigkeit ist rechts zur Kirchenmauer hin die kleine Kapelle Sant Miquel. Hier erzählt der Maler in seinen 1343 entstandenen Fresken aus dem Leben von Jesus und Maria. Die Besonderheit ist die plastische Darstellung, mit der er dem italienischen Maler Giotto nacheiferte, der den Beginn der neuzeitlichen Malerei markiert.

Im nächsten Raum des Kreuzgangs befindet sich das oben Beschriebene Grab von Königin Elisenda. Es folgen auf dieser Seite weitere Gräber von Oberinnen des Klosters.

Es folgen an der nördlichen Seite des Kreuzgangs mehrere Wirtschaftsräume und Zellen sowie der Aufgang auf das zweite Geschoss, welcher zur Hälfte zugänglich ist. Das dritte Geschoss ist nicht zugänglich.

Hier finden Sie auch das Museum im ehemaligen Schlafsaal des Klosters. Es zeigt in einem Rundgang sakrale Kunst und Alltagsgegenstände des Klosters von 14.-20. Jahrhundert. Im mittleren Kreuzgang finden Sie auch etliche winzige Gebetszellen.

Wenn Sie wieder die Treppe des Museums heruntergehen, können Sie den Rundgang um das Kloster im unteren Kreuzgang weiterführen. Auf der westlichen Seite befinden sich die Wirtschaftsräume, wie der Speisesaal, die Küche und im Untergeschoss die Vorratsräume des Klosters von Pedralbes.

Im Untergeschoss befindet sich eine sehr bemerkenswerte Dioramenschau, die die Lebensgeschichte von Jesus erzählt.

Der Garten von Monestir de Pedralbes

Das Kloster wäre sicher nicht so schön und beeindruckend, wenn der Garten im Innenhof nicht wäre. Hier erleben Sie Sie eine Stille, wie Sie sie Barcelona sonst nirgendwo finden. Außer dem Zwitschern der Vögel und dem Plätschern des Renaissance-Brunnens in der Mitte hören Sie hier nichts.

Große Palmen und Zypressen spenden angenehmen Schatten. Zum Garten haben Sie vom unteren Kreuzgang mehrfach Zugang.

Schwesterngemeinschaft der Klarissinnen

Franziskus von Assisi nahm 1212 Klara von Assisi, eine Nonne adliger Abstammung, in seine Gemeinschaft der Franziskaner auf. Es entstand die Schwesterngemeinschaft der Klarissinnen, später auch der "Zweite Orden" der Franziskaner genannt.
Das Kloster wird heute noch von den Klarissinnen-Nonnen bewirtschaftet, sie befinden sich aber in einem moderneren Nebengebäude.


Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Adresse
Baixada del Monestir, 9
Telefon: +34 932 563 434

Anreise
Metro: Reina Elisenda (FGC L6)
Bus Turístic: Monestir de Pedralbes

Öffnungszeiten
1. Apr.- 30. Sep.:
Di.-Fr.: 10-17:00 Uhr,
Sa: 10-19:00 Uhr,
So: 10-20:00 Uhr
1. Okt.- 31. März:
Di.-Sa.: 10-14:00 Uhr
Sa., So.: 10-17:00 Uhr
Geschlossen an folgenden Tagen:
1. Jan., Karfreitag, 1. Mai, 24. Juni, 25. und 26. Dez.

Eintrittspreise
Regulär: 5,00 €, ermäßigt: 3,50 €
Kinder bis 15 Jahre (in Begleitung eines Erwachsenen): frei
Menschen mit Behinderungen mit Ausweis: 3,50 €
Freier Eintritt: 12. Februar (Santa Eulàlia), 18. Mai (Internationaler Museumstag), 24. September (Mare de Déu de la Mercè).
Freier Eintritt mit der Barcelona Card

Tipps zum Besuch des Klosters Pedralbes

Wenn Sie im Sommer in Barcelona sind, besuchen Sie das Kloster von Pedralbes während der Mittagshitze. In der Kirche, im Kloster und im Garten ist es hier angenehm kühl.



Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Das erste Gebäude Gaudís eröffnet:

Gaudís erster großer Entwurf eines Gebäudes kann nun besichtigt werden. Hier Tickets für das Casa Vicens.