You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Buildings > Palau Güell

Palau Güell

The Building is an early work of the architect Gaudí


The Palau Güell is one of Antoni Gaudí's early works in Barcelona and one of the most magnificent buildings of the Modernism. It is located in the Raval district, just a few metres from the Rambla. Parts of the facade of the Palau Güell are reminiscent of a Venetian palace, striking are the two large oval gates at the front. With carriages you were able to drive directly through these gates into the horse stables. Guests then went up the stairs to the upper floors. Get a Barcelona Card and receive 25% discount for the admission to Palau Güell.

Our Recommendation

  • 25% discount at Palau Güell with the Barcelona Card

Visiting the Old Town of Barcelona

Gaudí was commissioned in 1885 by his patron, the industrialist Eusebi Güell i Bacigalupi, to design a city palace. Constructions began in October 1886. The world exhibition in 1888 was the opening of the palace, although the work continued. The striking, and for Gaudí typical chimneys, were installed on the roof in 1895. Altogether there are 20 chimneys on the roof, which also serve to ventilate the house.

Architecture of Palau Güell

The Palau Güell was supposed to become a multipurpose building, with apartments, event and exhibition spaces. There were just 18x22 metres of floor space available to build a magnificent and functional palace. The task was brilliantly solved by Gaudí, he created one of the most magnificent buildings of the Modernism.

However, Gaudí not only built houses, but he was also a designer and decorated the house with impressive ironwork, woodwork, ceramics, stained glass and stonework.

Floors at Palau Güell

On the lower floor the stables for horses and dormitories for the servants were located. You could get to the lower floor via two spiral ramps.

The Architect Antoni Gaudí

Barcelona's best known architect of the Modernism, Antoni Gaudí.

Antoni Gaudí

Two large, oval entrances made it easy to take the horse-drawn carriages into the house. From the wagon hall in the rear, the ramp for the horses led to the basement.

On the mezzanine floor used to be the workrooms and a library for the landlords Eusebi Güell and other administrative offices. On this floor the splendid entrance hall is located as well, from which a magnificent staircase leads to the Beletage, the family home of the landlord. The main level of the house also includes a tribune on the north side of the house, which shelters the entrances to the house.

The center of the Beletage is a 17-meter high salon decorated with mural paintings. The roof of the salon forms a parabolic dome. The salon served social occasions and also services were held here. The northern areas of the Beletage were dedicated to social events, the southern part served family purposes, such as the dining room or the billiards salon.

On the second floor were the private rooms of the family, which are arranged towards the window gallery to the large salon.

The rooms of the house staff and supply rooms, such as kitchen, pantry and washrooms used to be in the attic. On the terrace is a long steep needle that covers the dome of the large salon and 20 chimneys decorated with ceramics.

Since 1984 Palau Güell has been on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The building reopened in 2011 after a 7-year renovation.

Book the guided tour in the Palau Güell here

 

Important information

Surroundings
Find Hotels nearby

Address
Nou de la Rambla, 3-5
Phone: +34 933 179 974
www.palauguell.cat

Arrival
Metro: Liceu (L3)
Bus Turístic: Colom - Museu Marítim
Parking nearby

Opening times
April-Oct.:10-20:00
Nov-Mar: 10-17:30
Closed on Mondays (except public holidays)
Closed: 01 and 06 January, from 16-23 Jan., 25 and 26 December
Last admission one hour before closing.

Admission
Regular: €12.00 (audio guide included)
Reduced: €9.00
11-17 years: €5.00
Up to 10 years: free admission
With the Barcelona Card you get a 25% discount on admission.

Tips for the visit of the Palau Güell

Schedule about 1.5 hours for the visit. After buying the tickets at the box office, it may sometimes happen that you have to wait a few minutes, because only a certain number of persons are allowed to be admitted at the same time.



Tickets Camp Nou Tour:

New: Tickets directly by e-mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Tour.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Sehenswürdigkeiten > Bauwerke > Palau Güell

Palau Güell

Der Palast ist ein frühes Werk des Architekten Gaudí


Der Palau Güell ist in Barcelona eines der frühen Werke von Antoni Gaudí und eines der prächtigsten Bauten des Modernisme. Es befindet sich im Stadtteil Raval, nur wenige Meter von der Rambla entfernt. Teile der Fassade des Palau Güell erinnern an einen venezianischen Palast, wobei die beiden großen ovalen Tore an der Vorderseite auffällig sind. Durch diese konnte man mit Kutschen direkt in die Pferdeställe fahren. Gäste gingen dann über Treppen in die oberen Stockwerke.

Die Geschichte des Palau Güell

Gaudí wurde 1885 von seinem Mäzen, dem Industriellen Eusebi Güell i Bacigalupi beauftragt, einen Stadtpalast zu entwerfen. Baubeginn war im Oktober 1886. Zur Weltausstellung 1888 war die Eröffnung des Palastes, wenn auch die Arbeiten darüber hinaus fortdauerten. Die markanten und für Gaudí so typischen Schornsteine wurden 1895 auf dem Dach installiert. Insgesamt befinden sich auf dem Dach 20 Schornsteine, die auch zur Belüftung des Hauses dienen.

Architektur des Palau Güell

Das Palau Güell sollte ein Mehrzweckbau werden. Mit Wohnungen, Veranstaltungs- und Ausstellungsräumen. Es standen dazu gerade mal 18x22 Meter Grundfläche zur Verfügung, um einen ebenso prächtigen wie funktionalen Palast zu bauen. Die Aufgabe wurde von Gaudí genial gelöst, er schuf eines der prächtigsten Gebäude des Modernisme.

Gaudí baute jedoch nicht nur Häuser, sondern er war auch Designer und dekorierte das Haus mit eindrucksvollen Schmiedearbeiten, Holz-, Keramik-, Buntglas-und Steinarbeiten.

Stockwerke des Palau Güell

Im Untergeschoss befanden sich die Ställe für Pferde und Schlafräume für die Knechte. Das Untergeschoss erreichte man über zwei spiralförmige Rampen.

Der Architekt Antoni Gaudí

Barcelonas bekanntester Architekt des Modernisme, Antoni Gaudí.

Antoni Gaudí

Durch zwei große, ovale Eingänge konnte man bequem mit der Pferdekutsche in das Haus fahren. Von der Wagenhalle im hinteren Bereich führte die Rampe für die Pferde in das Untergeschoss.

In einem Hochparterre waren die Arbeitsräume und eine Bibliothek des Hausherren Eusebi Güell und weitere Verwaltungsräume. In diesem Stock befindet sich auch die prächtige Eingangshalle, von der eine ebenso prächtige Treppe in die Beletage, die Etage der Familie des Hausherren, führt. Zur Hauptebene des Hauses gehört auch eine Tribüne auf der Nordseite, die die Eingänge des Hauses überdacht.

Das Zentrum der Beletage ist ein 17 Meter hoher Salon, der mit Wandmalerei verziert ist. Das Dach des Salons bildet eine Parabolkuppel. Der Salon diente gesellschaftlichen Anlässen und auch Gottesdienste wurden hier abgehalten. Die nördlichen Räume der Beletage waren gesellschaftlichen Anlässen gewidmet, der südliche Teil diente familiären Zwecken, wie z.B. das Esszimmer oder der Billardsalon.

Im zweiten Stockwerk befanden sich die Privaträume der Familie, die zur Fenstergalerie zum großen Salon hin angeordnet sind.

Im Dachboden befanden sich dann die Räume des Hauspersonals und Versorgungsräume wie Küche, Speisekammer und Waschräume. Auf der Terrasse befindet sich eine lange Steilnadel, die die Kuppel des großen Salons abdeckt und 20 mit Keramiken verzierte Kamine.

Seit 1984 befindet sich der Palau Güell auf der Liste des Welterbes der UNESCO. Das Gebäude wurde 2011 nach 7-jähriger Renovierung wieder eröffnet.

Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Umgebung
Hotels in der Nähe finden

Adresse
Nou de la Rambla, 3-5
Telefon: +34 933 179 974
www.palauguell.cat

Anreise
Metro: Liceu (L3)
Bus Turístic: Colom - Museu Marítim
Parken in der Nähe

Eintrittspreise
Regulär: 12,00 € (inklusive Audioguide)
Ermäßigt: 9,00 €
11-17 Jahre: 5,00 €
Bis 10 Jahre: freier Eintritt
Mit der Barcelona Card erhalten Sie 25 % Rabatt beim Eintritt.

Hinweise zum Besuch des Palau Güell

Planen Sie etwa 1,5 Stunden für den Besuch ein. Nach dem Kauf der Tickets an der Tageskasse kann es manchmal vorkommen, dass Sie ein paar Minuten warten müssen, da nur eine gewisse Anzahl an Personen gleichzeitig eingelassen werden. Dafür ist es aber nicht so voll.



Das Spanische Dorf:

Im Poble Espanyol erleben Sie ganz Spanien in einem riesigen Freilichtmuseum.