You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Buildings > Torre Glòries

Torre Glòries

The (still) highest attraction in Barcelona now offers a great view


The Torre Glòries, as the Torre Agbar is now known, has become a beautiful landmark, especially when it is illuminated at night.

The tallest building in the city today was built as "Torre Agbar". The word "Agbar" is made up of the Castilian Aguas de Barcelona or Aigües de Barcelona in Catalan. Aguas de Barcelona is the municipal water company which today belongs to the Grupo Agbar. The holding consists of a total of 220 companies serving several sectors of the urban infrastructure.

The Torre Glòries was built by the Grupo Agbar and houses its headquarters. Since water is the focus of the Augas de Barcelona, the tower represents a water fountain that constantly changes its appearance. Depending on the incidence of light, the tower changes its colours - the coloured aluminium sheeting that reflects the light consists of 40 different colours of high gloss. In front of this layer the wall is clad with thousands of glass louvres that serve as a sunscreen and can be inclined at various angles to guarantee a maximum reflection of solar energy. The space between the façade layers allows a natural circulation of air in the building.

The Torre Agbar was designed by the French architect Jean Nouvel in association with the company b720 Arquitectos from Barcelona. It is said that Nouvel was inspired by the organic forms of Gaudí’s buildings in Barcelona and by the hills of the Montserrat. The building is often compared to a geyser reaching the sky above Barcelona.

At this moment, the Torre Agbar is the highest building in Barcelona. Only the Sagrada Familia will surmount it once the construction works are over - the building regulations in Barcelona do not allow any other building to be taller than the Sagrada Familia.

Viewing platform of the Torre Glòries

You can visit the viewing platform of the office building. From up there you will experience a unique view of Barcelona, the sea and the Conserolla massif. You can book tickets here.

Nocturnal illumination of the Torre Glòries

The illuminated tower is particularly impressive at night. During the lighting, the 4,500 illuminated panels constantly change their colors. This spectacle is interesting from any point from which you can see the skyscraper if you are not too close to it.

Schedule of illumination:

  • Winter: Fri, Sat & Sun.: 20.00-23.00
  • Summer: Fri, Sat & Sun: 21.00-24.00
  • Also at other times the Torre Agbar will be illuminated.

Use of the Torre Glòries today

In 2013, General Aguas de Barcelona sold the building to investor Emin Capital, who wanted to operate a Grand Hyatt hotel in it. Several restaurants should be built in the building and the viewing platform should be made accessible to the public.

However, the city administration did not give a building permit for a new hotel. The building was then sold on to investor Merlin Properties in January 2017 for "only" €142 million. The sale price is €108 million below the price that Emin Capital had paid for it at the time. The former Torre Agbar seems to have become a slow seller as Torre Glòries.

The city of Barcelona has applied to host the European Medicines Agency (EMA). Due to the political uncertainties in October 2017, Barcelona did not get the contract for the authority.

Parts of the building are now rented out as offices, Merlin will probably convert and modernize it and expand the Torre Agbar into a large office building.

Technical data of the Torre Glòries

  • Height: 142 m
  • Gross floor area: 50,500 m²
  • Floors: 32 of which 28 can be used as office spaces
  • Expanse of the façade: 16,000 m²
  • Surface: 40 special colours of high gloss
  • Window cases: 4,349, all differently arranged
  • Total amount of windows: 4,500
  • Construction period: June 4th, 1999 to January 25th, 2006
  • Amount of concrete used: 25,000 m³
  • Amount of steel used: 250 tons

Why visit the Torre Glòries

  • Visiting the Torre Agbar or Torre Glòries was not possible for a long time. The viewing platform and a museum were only opened to the public in April 2022.
  • There are also other points from which you can have a great view of the city: Montjuïc, Tibidabo, the towers of the Sagrada Familia, the Eclipse Bar in the Hotel W Barcelona or from Park Güell. However, the Torre Glòries is located in the middle of the urban development and therefore offers a completely different perspective. The tower is unique in this north-eastern part of the city.
  • The tower can be easily reached by metro or double-decker bus. You can reach the top quickly and comfortably with the lift.
  • Why not combine the Torre Glòries with the Design Museum, also a very interesting sight.

Tickets for the obervatory deck here

(Click on the product images to book)

  • Tickets without standing in line
  • Access to the 360° view on the 33rd floor
  • Interactive museum and "See Barcelona" experience
  • With the double-decker bus directly to Torre Glòries
 

Important information

Surroundings
Find Hotels nearby

Address
Plaça de les Glòries

Arrival
Metro: Glòries (L1) /Tram Glòries (T5)
Parking nearby

Opening times
Admission from 10:00 to 20:00 possible every half hour

Tips for the visit of Torre Glòries

You can book tickets to visit the viewing platform here. The Torre Glòries is particularly beautiful when viewed from a distance when it is dark and the tower is illuminated.
If you are traveling by double-decker bus, you can get off here and visit the Design Museum as well as the Torre Glóries. Both sights are definitely worth a visit.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Sehenswürdigkeiten > Bauwerke > Torre Glòries

Torre Glòries

Die (noch) höchste Sehenswürdigkeit in Barcelona bietet nun eine tolle Aussicht


Der Torre Glòries, wie der Torre Agbar heute heißt, ist ein wunderschönes Wahrzeichen geworden, besonders wenn er nachts beleuchtet ist.

Das heute noch höchste Gebäude der Stadt wurde als "Torre Agbar" erbaut. Das Wort "Agbar" ist ein Kunstwort und setzte sich aus "Aguas de Barcelona" zusammen. Der Torre Agbar war bis zu dem Auszug der Wasserwerke deren Firmensitz. Heute ist der Turm im Besitz von Investoren und wird nach mehreren Jahren mit Leerstand als Bürogebäude genutzt.

Die Aguas de Barcelona sind die Wasserwerke, die zur Grupo Agbar gehören. Diese Holding aus über 220 Firmen, die viele Bereiche der städtischen Infrastruktur bedienen, ist vergleichbar mit den Stadtwerken in Deutschland. Die Grupo Agbar war der Bauherr des Torre Agbar, in dem sich deren Hauptverwaltung befand. Der Turm soll eine Wasserfontäne darstellen, die permanent ihr äußeres Aussehen verändert. Je nach Lichteinfall verändert der Turm seine Farben. Dafür sorgen 40 verschiedene Lackfarben, die das Licht unterschiedlich reflektieren. Verstärkt wird dieser Effekt auch durch tausende Glaslamellen vor der eigentlichen Fassade. Diese Lamellen sind eigentlich ein Sonnenschutz und werden entsprechend des Sonnenstandes ausgerichtet, um so eine möglichst hohe Reflexion der Sonnenenergie zu erreichen. Nebenbei sorgen die Lamellen für eine natürliche Luftzirkulation im Gebäude.

Torre Glòries

Entworfen wurde der Torre Agbar bzw. Torre Glòries, wie er heute heißt, von dem französischen Architekten Jean Nouvel, zusammen mit dem Barceloner Architekturbüro b720. Nouvel wurde von den organischen Formen, welche Antoní Gaudí hervorbrachte, und von den Bergen von Montserrat inspiriert. Darstellen soll der Torre Agbar einen Geysir, der den Himmel von Barcelona berührt.

Derzeit ist der Torre Agbar/Torre Glòries das höchste Gebäude in Barcelona. Nur die Sagrada Familia wird einmal höher sein. Das besagen die Bauvorschriften in Barcelona, die dafür sorgen, dass die Sagrada Familia für alle Zeiten das höchste Gebäude in Barcelona bleiben wird.

Aussichtsplattform des Torre Glòries

Die Aussichtsplattform des Bürohauses können Sie besuchen. Sie erleben von dort oben eine einmalige Aussicht auf Barcelona, das Meer und das Conserolla-Massiv. Tickets können Sie hier buchen.

Illumination des Torre Glòries

Besonders eindrucksvoll ist der beleuchtete Turm bei Nacht. Während der Beleuchtung ändern die 4.500 beleuchteten Panels permanent ihre Farben. Interessant ist dieses Spektakel von jedem Punkt aus, von dem man das Hochhaus gut sehen kann, wenn man nicht zu nah davor steht.

Zeiten der Beleuchtung:

  • Winter: Fr., Sa. So.: 20-23:00 Uhr
  • Sommer: Fr., Sa., So.: 21-24:00 Uhr
  • Auch zu anderen Zeiten ist der Büroturm beleuchtet

Nutzung des Torre Glòries heute

2013 verkaufte die General Aguas de Barcelona das Gebäude an den Investor Emin Capital, die darin ein Grand Hyatt-Hotel betreiben wollte. Hierbei sollten mehrere Restaurants in das Gebäude gebaut und die Aussichtsplattform der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden.

Die Stadtverwaltung gab aber für ein neues Hotel keine Baugenehmigung. Das Gebäude wurde dann für "nur" 142 Mio. € im Januar 2017 weiter an den Investor Merlin Properties verkauft. Der Verkaufspreis liegt damit 108 Mio. € unter dem Preis, den seinerzeit Emin Capital dafür bezahlt hatte. Der ehemalige Torre Agbar scheint als Torre Glòries ein Ladenhüter geworden zu sein.

Die Stadt Barcelona hat sich für den Standort des European Medicines Agency (EMA) beworben. Auf Grund der politischen Unsicherheiten im Oktober 2017 hat aber Barcelona den Zuschlag für die Behörde nicht bekommen.

Teile des Gebäudes sind heute als Büros vermietet, Merlin wird es wohl umbauen und modernisieren und den Torre Agbar zu einem großen Bürohaus ausbauen.

Technische Daten des Torre Glòries

  • Höhe: 142 Meter
  • Nutzfläche insgesamt: 50.500m²
  • Stockwerke: 32, davon 28 für Büros nutzbar
  • Aussichtsplattform: im 33. Stockwerk
  • Fassadenfläche: 16.000m²
  • Oberfläche: 40 verschiedene Lackfarben
  • Fensteröffnungen: 4.349, unterschiedlich angeordnet
  • Fenster insgesamt: 4.500
  • Bauzeit: Von 4.6.1999 bis 25.01.2006
  • Verbauter Beton: 25.000m³
  • Verbauter Stahl: 250 Tonnen

Warum den Torre Glòries besuchen

  • Lange war der Besuch des Torre Agbar bzw. Torre Glòries nicht möglich. Erst im Mai 2022 wurde die Aussichtsplattform und ein Museum der Öffentlichkeiit zugänglich gemacht.
  • Es gibt auch andere Punkte, von denen Sie einen tollen Blick auf die Stadt haben: der Montjuïc, der Tibidabo, die Türme der Sagrada Familia, die Eclipse Bar im Hotel W Barcelona oder vom Park Güell. Der Torre Glòries liegt aber mitten in der urbanen Bebauung und bietet daher einen ganz anderen Blickwinkel. In diesem Nordöstlichen Teil der Stadt ist der Turm einmalig.
  • Der Turm ist ohne große Mühe mit der Metro oder dem Doppeldeckerbus zu erreichen. Oben sind Sie schnell und komfortabel mit dem Lift.
  • Verbinden Sie den Torre Glòries doch mit dem Design Museum, auch eine sehr interessante Sehenswürdigkeit.

Tickets für Torre Glòries buchen

(Klicken Sie auf die Produktbilder, um Preise und Verfügbarkeiten anzuzeigen)

  • Tickets ohne Schlange stehen
  • Zugang zur 360º-Aussicht im 33. Stockwerk
  • Interaktives Museum und "See Barcelona"-Erlebnis
  • Mit dem Doppeldeckerbus direkt zum Torre Glòries
 

Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Umgebung
Hotels in der Nähe finden

Adresse
Plaça de les Glòries

Anreise
Metro: Glòries (L1) /Tram Glòries (T5)
Parken in der Nähe

Öffnungszeiten
Eintritt von 10:00 bis 20:00 Uhr alle halbe Stunde möglich

Hinweise zum Torre Glòries

Tickets für den Besuch der Aussichtsplattform können Sie hier buchen. Besonders schön ist der Torre Glòries auch aus der Ferne betrachtet, wenn es dunkel ist und der Turm beleuchtet ist.

Falls Sie mit dem Doppeldeckerbus unterwegs sind, können Sie hier aussteigen neben dem Torre Glóries auch das Design Museum besichtigen. Beide Sehenswürdigkeiten sind auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert.