You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Museums > Olympic and Sports Museum

Olympic and Sports Museum Joan Antoni Samaranch

A fascinating journey through the world of the Olympic Games and Sports


Sport is ... life! This shows this museum impressively. Opened in 2007, it is located next to the Olympic Stadium on Montjuïc, the local mountain of Barcelona. The goal: to introduce visitors to the history of the Olympic Games, the importance of sportsmanship and the inestimable value of sport in education and culture. With exhibits such as original jerseys of famous athletes and interactive installations, the world of sports becomes tangible in the truest sense of the word.

Our recommendation for the Olympic and Sports Museum

Description

Benefits Barcelona Card

  • Free admission to 25 attractions
  • Discounts at more than 70 other museums, leisure activities, cultural venues, shops, pubs and restaurants
  • Public transport for free: within the urban area (zone 1) Metro, tram, city bus (TMB), FGC (Catalan railway), RENFE (Spanish railway)
  • Free train, bus 46 and metro L9 from El Prat de Llobregat Airport to the city center and back
  • Accompanying booklet with city map, metro plan and description of facilities with discounts
  • The Barcelona Card is available for 3, 4 or 5 days (72, 96 and 120 hours from first use).
  • For 2 days (48 hours) you can get the Barcelona Card Express.
  • Barcelona Card for children: 4-12 years

 Benefits Hop-on Hop-off Bus - Bus Turístic

  • Bus ticket for one or two consecutive days
  • Ticket valid on all three lines (two in winter)
  • You can get on and off at 45 stops and change trains at will
  • Route plan with the stops
  • Audio commentary in English and 15 other languages
  • Each guest receives own earphones (on the bus)
  • Free WiFi on board
  • Small guide with lots of information (on the bus)
  • Coupons with many discounts (on the bus)
  • Lower deck is wheelchair accessible

 

Opening hours of the Olympic and Sports Museum

October to March

  • Tuesdays to Saturdays 10:00 to 18:00
  • Sundays and public holidays 10:00 to 14:30

April to October

  • Tuesdays to Saturdays from 10:00 to 20:00
  • Sunday and public holidays 10:00 to 14:30

Closed: Mondays, January 1st, May 1st, December 25th and December 26th

Booking and Shipping
  • Just enter the number of tickets you want, select the shipping method and click on "Add to cart".

Shipping

  • Fast mailing (4.90 € shipping costs): This allows you to hold your Barcelona Cards in your hands before you travel. No waiting at pickup location required, no detours. You are independent of the opening hours of the issuing offices. Here you will find an overview of the delivery times.
  • Sending by e-mail (free shipping): Immediately after booking, you will receive a voucher that allows you to pick up your booked Barcelona Cards directly at the airport or at various points in the city (for delivery points see below).
    E-mailing of vouchers will be done directly after booking.
Cancellation
  • Booking without risk: unused Barcelona Cards and Bus Turístic Tickets received by post can be returned until 15.01. of the following year (if sent by us), we will refund the full purchase price
  • If you have booked shipping by e-mail voucher, you can cancel the ticket up to six weeks after the booking, but not later than the 15th of January of the following year
  • No cancellation fees

The exhibition of the Olympic Museum

On your marks, get set, go: If you like, you can do the circuit, which leads you slightly downhill through the museum, and do some sports in a sprint - but then you would miss something exciting about the history of the Olympic Games and their disciplines. The exhibition starts in 776 BC: the year in which the first Olympic Games took place. With the realization of the games, Zeus, the god of Olympus should be honored. How the games have developed since then is clearly illustrated by information boards and exhibits.

Also the beginning of the Formula 1 and the Tour of the France is explained, as well as details about sports legends and their records. But it's not just about facts and figures: time and again, examples from history make clear what contribution sport makes in the social and cultural field and what an effective means of integration it is. Among other things, women's emancipation, the importance of sport for war veterans and the development of the Paralympics are discussed.

A big extra area in the museum is provided for the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona and its medial preparation. Also exciting is the private art collection of Joan Antoni Samaranch. He served for more than 20 years as chairman of the International Olympic Committee and was the driving force behind the 1992 Barcelona Olympics. After his death, the museum was named after him. His collection makes it particularly clear how closely sports, art and culture are interconnected.

Those who want to be active themselves are particularly looking forward to the end of the tour: Here, visitors can use multimedia installations to measure their reaction speed, feel the weight that professionals lift in weightlifting - or compete in the sprint against record holder Carl Lewis. Out of breath? Then there is an entertaining information film about Barcelona as a sports city, as a city in motion. Because that's exactly what our body is made of: movement.

 

History of the Olympic and Sports Museum Barcelona

The 1992 Barcelona Olympics were a crucial event for the city, with a great boom and formative architectural changes accordingly. In 2005, the city council decided to create a museum that would fulfil the spirit of Olympia and the sporting world as a whole. In the same year, the architects Xavier Basiana and Toni Camps started building the museum - of course not somewhere, but next to the Olympic Stadium. In 2007, the Olympic and Sports Museum was inaugurated - the first of its kind in Europe with such versatile innovative technologies and multimedia experiences. In 2010, two months after the death of Joan Antoni Samaranch, who led the International Olympic Committee for more than 20 years, the museum was named after him.

 

The importance of the 1992 Olympic Games for Barcelona

The death of Franco in 1975 brought profound political changes in Spain: democracy was re-established, and the Catalans were again granted more rights. Nevertheless, for almost 20 years Barcelona remained a rather dull and unattractive city. Only after winning the bid to host the Olympic Games of 1992 there was arising a mood of optimism.

The city was opened to the sea, new quarters were developed, places were redesigned and embellished. Newly built sports facilities such as the Olympic Stadium, the outdoor pool or the Port Olímpic are still used today. Also the Castell, long a symbol of the repression by the Franco-rule, was transferred as an Olympic sports place of a peaceful use.

That is why the 1992 Olympic Games are a very important milestone in the development of Barcelona - architecturally, politically and culturally. The games were a collaborative experience that touched all social classes.


Why visiting the Sports Museum is worthwhile

Already on the way to the museum, visitors can feel the sports spirit of this area: It is located right next to the Olympic Stadium and very close to other sports venues of the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games. The museum tour takes you along important sporting events from antiquity to today and surprises you always with interesting facts. If after gaining so much information you are looking forward to become active yourself, you can compete with record holders e.g. sprinting against Carl Lewis in a large extra area thanks to interactive technology. Anyone who still had doubts about whether sport is more than just a hobby later knows: Sport is more - sport is life.

 


Free admission to the Olympic Museum with the Barcelona Card

  • Reduced and free admission to many attractions
  • Free use of public transport
  • Shipping by mail or voucher by e-mail
Please, enter the desired number of Barcelona Cards.
2019 - Barcelona Card (adults) Desired quantity
3 days (72 hours) 46.00 € 43.70€
4 days (96 hours) 56.00 € 53.20€
5 days (120 hours) 61.00 € 57.95€
2019 - Barcelona Card (children 4-12 years)
3 days (72 hours) 22.00 € 20.90€
4 days (96 hours) 28.00 € 26.60€
5 days (120 hours) 33.00 € 31.35€
Sum of your selection:
-

(incl. 0.00 € one time fee)
Our partner: Barcelonaturisme, 08008 Barcelona, Passatge de la Concepció, 7-9


Important information

Surroundings
Find Hotels nearby

Address
Av. De l’Estadi, 60
Phone: +34 932 925 379

Arrival
Metro: Pl. Espanya (L1, L3)
Bus Turístic: Anella Olímpica
Parking nearby

Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by e-mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Sehenswürdigkeiten > Museen > Olympia- und Sportmuseum

Olympia- und Sportmuseum Joan Antoni Samaranch

Eine faszinierende Reise durch die Welt der Olympischen Spiele und des Sports


Sport ist… Leben! Das zeigt dieses Museum eindrucksvoll. Es wurde 2007 eröffnet und liegt direkt neben dem Olympiastadion auf dem Montjuïc, dem Hausberg von Barcelona. Das Ziel: Besuchern die Geschichte der Olympischen Spiele, die Bedeutung von Sportsgeist sowie den unschätzbaren Wert von Sport in den Bereichen Erziehung und Kultur nahe zu bringen. Anhand von Ausstellungsstücken wie Original-Trikots berühmter Athleten und dank interaktiver Installationen wird die Welt des Sports hier im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes greifbar.

Unsere Empfehlung zum Olympia- und Sportmuseum

Die Ausstellung des Olympiamuseums

Auf die Plätze, fertig, los: Wer mag, kann den Rundgang, der leicht abschüssig durch das Museum führt, auch sportlich im Sprint zurücklegen – man würde dann allerdings Spannendes zur Geschichte der Olympischen Spiele und deren Disziplinen verpassen. Die Ausstellung setzt 776 v. C. ein: dem Jahr, in dem die ersten Olympischen Spiele stattfanden. Mit Ausrichtung der Spiele sollte Zeus, der Gott des Olympus geehrt werden. Wie sich die Spiele seitdem entwickelt haben, wird anhand von Informationstafeln und Ausstellungsstücken anschaulich erklärt.

Auch der Beginn der Formel 1 und der Tour der France wird erläutert, genau wie Details zu Sportlegenden und deren Rekorde. Doch es geht nicht nur um reine Fakten und Zahlen: Immer wieder wird anhand von Beispielen aus der Geschichte deutlich gemacht, welchen Beitrag Sport im sozialen und kulturellen Bereich leistet und was für ein wirksames Mittel zur Integration er ist. So wird unter anderem auf Frauenemanzipation, die Bedeutung von Sport für Kriegsveteranen und die Entwicklung der Paralympics eingegangen.

Einen großen Extra-Bereich nehmen im Museum die Olympischen Spiele 1992 in Barcelona und deren mediale Aufbereitung ein. Ebenfalls spannend ist die private Kunstsammlung von Joan Antoni Samaranch. Er war mehr als 20 Jahre lang Vorsitzender des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees und treibende Kraft der Olympischen Spiele 1992 in Barcelona. Nach seinem Tod wurde das Museum nach ihm benannt. Anhand seiner Sammlung wird besonders deutlich, wie eng Sport, Kunst und Kultur miteinander verbunden sind.

Wer selber aktiv werden möchte freut sich besonders auf das Ende des Rundgangs: Hier können Besucher mithilfe von Multimediainstallationen unter anderem ihre Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit messen, das Gewicht nachempfinden, das Profis im Gewichtheben stemmen – oder im Sprint gegen Rekordhalter Carl Lewis antreten. Aus der Puste? Dann gibt es zum Abschluss noch einen unterhaltsamen Informationsfilm über Barcelona als Sportstadt, als Stadt in Bewegung. Denn genau dafür ist unser Körper ja gemacht: Bewegung.

Geschichte des Olympia- und Sportmuseums Barcelona

Die Olympischen Spiele 1992 in Barcelona waren ein einschneidendes Erlebnis für die Stadt, verbunden mit einem großen Aufschwung und prägenden architektonischen Veränderungen. 2005 beschloss die Stadtverwaltung, ein Museum zu schaffen, dass dem Geist von Olympia und der Sportwelt insgesamt gerecht wird. Im selben Jahr starteten die Architekten Xavier Basiana und Toni Camps mit dem Bau des Museums – selbstverständlich nicht irgendwo, sondern direkt neben dem Olympiastadion. 2007 wurde das Olympia- und Sportmuseum eingeweiht – das erste seiner Art in Europa mit so vielseitigen innovativen Technologien und Multimedia-Erlebnissen. 2010, zwei Monate nach dem Tod von Joan Antoni Samaranch, der mehr als 20 Jahre das Internationale Olympische Komitee leitete, wurde das Museum zusätzlich nach ihm benannt.

Die Bedeutung der Olympischen Spiele 1992 für Barcelona

Der Tod Francos 1975 brachte tiefgreifende politische Veränderungen in Spanien mit sich: Die Demokratie wurde wieder eingeführt, und den Katalanen wurden wieder mehr Rechte zugesprochen. Trotzdem blieb Barcelona noch fast 20 Jahre lang eine eher triste und wenig einladende Stadt. Erst nach dem Zuschlag für die Olympischen Spiele 1992 herrschte auf einmal Aufbruchstimmung.

Die Stadt öffnete sich zum Meer hin, neue Viertel wurden erschlossen, Plätze neu gestaltet und verschönert. Neu gebaute Sportanlagen wie das Olympiastadion, das Freibad oder der Port Olímpic werden heute noch genutzt. Auch das Castell, lange Zeit ein Symbol der Unterdrückung durch die Franco-Herrschaft, wurde als Olympische Sportstätte einer friedlichen Nutzung überführt.

Die Olympischen Spiele von 1992 sind deshalb ein ganz wichtiger Meilenstein in der Entwicklung von Barcelona – architektonisch, politisch und kulturell. Die Spiele waren ein Gemeinschaftserlebnis, das alle gesellschaftliche Schichten berührte.

Warum sich der Besuch des Sportmuseums lohnt

Schon auf dem Weg zum Museum spüren Besucher den Sportsgeist dieser Gegend: Es liegt direkt neben dem Olympiastadion und ganz in der Nähe weiterer Sportstätten der Olympischen Spiele in Barcelona 1992. Der Rundgang im Museum führt entlang wichtiger sportlicher Ereignisse von der Antike bis heute und überrascht dabei immer wieder mit interessanten Fakten. Wer nach so vielen Informationen Lust bekommt, selbst aktiv zu werden, kann sich in einem großen Extra-Bereich dank interaktiver Technik zum Beispiel beim Sprinten mit Rekordhaltern wie Carl Lewis messen. Wer vor dem Besuch noch Zweifel hatte, ob Sport mehr ist als nur ein Hobby, weiß spätestens hinterher: Sport ist mehr – Sport ist Leben.

Tickets für das Olympische Museum

  • Barcelona Card: freier Eintritt in das Museum
  • Bus Turístic: direct am Museum aussteigen
 

Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Umgebung
Hotels in der Nähe finden

Adresse
Av. De l’Estadi, 60
Telefon: +34 932 925 379

Anreise
Metro: Pl. Espanya (L1, L3)
Bus Turístic: Anella Olímpica
Parken in der Nähe

Öffnungszeiten
Oktober bis März
Dienstags bis samstags 10:00 bis 18:00 Uhr
Sonntags und feiertags 10:00 bis 14:30 Uhr

April bis Oktober
Dienstags bis samstags 10:00 bis 20:00 Uhr
Sonntag und feiertags 10:00 bis 14:30 Uhr

Geschlossen: montags, 1. Januar, 1. Mai, 25. und 26. Dezember


Eintrittspreise
Regulär: 5,80 €
Schüler und Studenten 3,60 €
Schüler- und Studentengruppen (ab 10 Personen): 3 €
Erwachsenengruppen (ab 10 Personen): 4,50 €
Kinder unter 7 Jahren und Personen über 65 Jahren: freier Eintritt
Freier Eintritt am 24. September, 12. Februar
Freier Eintritt mit der Barcelona Card

Tipps für den Besuch des Olympia- und Sportmuseums

Sie sollten für den Besuch ungefähr 1,5 Stunden einplanen. Nach dem Besuch lohnt es sich, noch eine Weile auf dem Montjuïc zu bleiben und die "sportliche" Umgebung zu erkunden.

Das Spanische Dorf:

Im Poble Espanyol erleben Sie ganz Spanien in einem riesigen Freilichtmuseum.