You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Museums > Aquàrium

Aquàrium - Oceanographic Museum

The Aquàrium in Barcelona is one of the largest in Europe


In Aquàrium Barcelona, Europe's largest and most important Museum of Marine Science of the Mediterranean, maritime habitats are emulated in over 35 different water basins. You will find over 11,000 marine animals from 450 species and an 80-metres-long underwater tunnel through the shark basin. Book tickets here and get inside without standing in line. Connect your visit to the Aquàrium with a tour on the Golondrina, the pier is located nearby.

Highlights of the ticket for the Aquàrium

  • Free time selection during hours
  • No standing in line at the box office
  • Visit Europe's largest aquarium

Why is the Aquàrium Worth Visiting?

The L'Aquàrium is located on the Moll d'Espanya at Port Vell and is easily accessible by foot from the Old Town and Barceloneta. A stop of Bus Turístic is located only a few steps away from the Aquàrium.

Although the Aquàrium itself is understood as a leasure establishment it displays the animals, their habitats and the interaction of the habitats in an impressive way. A highlight is an 80 metres-long glass tunnel through the sea basin in which you can see sharks, rays and moraines. Courageous people can dive in the shark basin. Limited spots and only by appointment.

The original home of the animals shown in the L'Aquàrium Barcelona is mainly the Mediterranean and tropical waters.

For children they have excellently furnished areas.

Video of visiting the L'Aqàrium de Barcelona

The Different Areas of the Auquarium

The Ozeaneum - In the Face of Sharks and Morays

With a diameter of 36 metres, a water depth of over 5 metres and a content of nearly 4 million litres of water, the Ozeaneum is Barcelona's largest aquarian basin.

The variety of underwater species makes this basin particularly spectacular: sea bream, moray eels, sunfish, rays and two shark species, the sand tiger sharks (Carcharias taurus) and the sandbank sharks (Carcharhinus plumbeus). These are undoubtedly the stars of L'Aquàrium.

In the transparent tunnel on the "seabed" you experience the sharks and other curious sea creatures from close proximity.

The oceans are a special part of the flora and fauna of the Mediterranean, with a total of more than 3,700 m³ of water, the water temperature is between 14 and 18 ° C in bright light, as it is typical in the Mediterranean near the surface.

Mediterranean Aquariums

The L'Aquàrium de Barcelona is the largest of its kind in the world, dedicated specifically to the Mediterranean. In a total of 14 pools with a volume of 6 to 120 m³, the most diverse inhabitants from the most diverse regions of the Mediterranean are presented.

Here you can see the animals in a natural environment, in which you can admire the particular fauna.

Tropical Aquariums

The tropical warm waters offer a colorful biodiversity that is second to none. The L'Aquàrium is home to seven pools dedicated to tropical waters, ranging in size from 11 to 156 m³. The water temperature of 23 to 27 ° C is much warmer than in the Mediterranean basin.

In the largest pool of tropical aquariums, you will find tropical shark species. Some of them have their habitat in coral reefs, others are in search of food in the open sea.

Another pool is dedicated to the colorful variety of tropical coral reefs, one specifically the Great Barrier Rief off Australia and another to the fish and other aquatic inhabitants of the tropical atolls. In two basins you can see the inhabitants, which can be found in the Red Sea and the Caribbean Sea.

Spectacular is the pool with tropical poison fish and fish that act aggressively against attackers.

Theme Aquaries

The above mentioned aquariums are dedicated more to the various regions, but you will also find several pools on different topics: invertebrate sea creatures, seahorses, shark eggs, tropical corals and "fantastic underwater creatures".

Areas for Children

Your children will certainly be watching the fascinating underwater world in front of the aquariums. In a play area for children, the underwater world and the inhabitants of the oceans and their ecosystems are introduced to children in an exciting and playful way.

Book tickets for the Aquarium here

  • Aquarium: tickets with skip the line
  • Coast tour: only some steps away from the Aquarium
 

Important information

Surroundings
Find Hotels nearby

Address
Moll d'Espanya del Port Vell
Phone: +34 932 217 474
www.aquariumbcn.com

Arrival
Metro: Drassanes (L3), Barceloneta (L4)
Bus Turístic: Port Vell
Parking nearby

Opening times
The Aquàrium opens at 10:00 every day.

Closing times:
January - März, November-December:
- Mon. to Fri. 19:30
- Weekends and bank holidays: 20:00
April-May and October:
- Mon. to Fri. 20:00
- Weekends and bank holidays: 20:30
June - September and Easter week: 13 - 22:00
April:
- daily 21:00
Christmas holiday:
- daily 14 December to 7 January 2020: 20:00
Last admission one hour before closing



Tickets Camp Nou Tour:

New: Tickets directly by e-mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Tour.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Sehenswürdigkeiten > Museen in Barcelona > L'Aquàrium - meereskundliches Museum

L'Aquàrium - meereskundliches Museum

Das L'Aquàrium in Barcelona ist eines der größten in Europas

Im L'Aquàrium Barcelona, Europas größtem und wichtigsten Museum für Meereskunde des Mittelmeers, sind in über 35 Wasserbecken verschiedenste maritime Lebensräume nachgebildet. Sie finden hier über 11.000 Meerestiere aus 450 Gattungen und einen 80 Meter langen Unterwassertunnel durch das Haifischbecken.

Das L'Aquàrium befindet sich auf der Moll d'Espanya im Port Vell und ist von der Altstadt und Barceloneta sehr gut zu Fuß zu erreichen.

Die ursprüngliche Heimat der Tiere, die im L'Aquàrium Barcelona ausgestellt werden, ist vor allem das Mittelmeer und die tropischen Gewässer.

Obwohl sich das Aquàrium auch als Vergnügungseinrichtung versteht, zeigt es auf beeindruckende Weise die Tiere, deren Lebensraum und das Zusammenwirken der Biotope. Höhepunkt ist der etwa 80 Meter lange Glastunnel durch das Meeresbecken, in dem sich Haie, Moränen und Rochen tummeln. Wagemutige können auch im Haifischbecken tauchen. Limitierte Plätze und nur nach Voranmeldung.

Hervorragend eingerichtet sind eigene Bereiche für Kinder.

Die verschiedenen Bereiche des L'Aquàriums

Das Ozeanium - im Angesicht von Haien und Muränen

Das Ozeaneum ist mit 36 Metern Durchmesser, einer Wassertiefe von über 5 Metern und mit einem Inhalt von fast 4 Millionen Litern Wasser das größte Becken des Aquàriums von Barcelona.

Die Vielzahl an Unterwasserspezies macht dies Becken besonders spektakulär: Doraden, Muränen, Mondfische, Rochen und zwei Haiarten, den Sandtigerhaien (Carcharias taurus) und den Sandbankhaien (Carcharhinus plumbeus). Diese sind zweifelsohne die Stars des L'Aquàriums.

Im transparenten Tunnel am "Meeresboden" erleben Sie die Haie und andere neugierige Meeresbewohner aus unmittelbarer Nähe.

Das Ozeanium stellt einen besonderen Ausschnitt aus der Flora und Fauna des Mittelmeers nach, insgesamt verfügt es über 3.700 m3 Wasser, die Wassertemperatur beträgt zwischen 14 und 18° C bei hellem Licht, wie es im Mittelmeer in Oberflächennähe typisch ist.

Mittelmeeraquarien

Das L'Aquàrium de Barcelona ist das größte seiner Art weltweit, das sich speziell dem Mittelmeer widmet. In insgesamt 14 Becken mit einem Volumen von 6 bis 120 m3 werden die unterschiedlichsten Bewohner aus den unterschiedlichsten Regionen des Mittelmeeres präsentiert.

Sie sehen hier die Tiere in einer der Natur nachgestellten Umgebung, in der Sie auch die jeweilige Fauna bestaunen können.

Tropische Aquarien

Die tropischen warmen Gewässer bieten eine farbenfrohe Artenvielfalt, die seinesgleichen sucht. Das L'Aquarium beheimat sieben Becken, die sich den tropischen Gewässern widmen von einer Größe von 11 bis 156 m3. Die Wassertemperatur mit 23 bis 27° C ist deutlich wärmer als in den Mittelmeerbecken.

Im größte Becken der tropischen Aquarien finden Sie tropische Haiarten. Einige von Ihnen haben ihren Lebensraum in Korallenriffen, andere wiederum halten sich auf der Suche nach Nahrung im offenen Meer auf.

Ein weiteres Becken widmet sich der bunten Vielfalt der tropischen Korallenriffe, eines speziell dem Great Barrier Rief vor Australien und ein anderes den Fischen und anderen Wasserbewohner der Tropischen Atolle. In zwei Becken sehen Sie die Bewohner, die im Roten Meer und dem Karibischem Meer zu finden sind.

Spektakulär ist das Becken mit tropischen Giftfischen und Fischen, die Agressiv gegen Angreifer vorgehen.

Themenaquarien

Sind die oben genannten Aquarien mehr den Regionen zuzuordnen, finden Sie hier auch mehrere Becken zu unterschiedlichsten Themen: Wirbellose Meeresbewohner, Seepferdchen, Haifisch-Eier, Tropische Korallen und "fantastische Unterwasser-Kreaturen".

Bereiche für Kinder

Bestimmt werden Ihre Kinder gespannt vor den Aquarien die faszinierende Unterwasserwelt beobachten. In einem weiteren Bereich, der speziell den Spieldrang der Kinder anspricht, werden ihnen die Unterwasserwelt und die Bewohner der Meere und deren Ökosysteme auf spannende und spielerisch-interaktiver Art  nahe gebracht.


Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Adresse
Moll d'Espanya del Port Vell
Telefon: +34 932 217 474
www.aquariumbcn.com

Anreise
Metro: Drassanes (L3), Barceloneta (L4)
Bus Turístic: Port Vell

Öffnungszeiten
Täglich: 10:00 - 20:00 Uhr
(letzter Eintritt 19:00 Uhr)
Juni / Sept.: bis 21:00 Uhr
Juli / Aug.: bis 21:30 Uhr
Besondere, längere Öffnungszeiten an bestimmten Tagen

Eintrittspreise
Hier Tickets online buchen
Erwachsene: 20,00 €
Kinder 5-10 Jahre: 15,00 €
Kinder Mini 3-4 Jahre: 7 €
Senioren ab 65 Jahre: 18,00 €
Mit der Barcelona Card 20% Rabatt (an der Kasse).



Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Zu 25 Jahre Olympia:

Erleben Sie Sport, Strand und Kultur mit dem Kultur-Triatlon - Stadtführung im Viertel El Born, Küstenrundfahrt und Fahrradtour mit deutschsprachigem Reiseleiter.