You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Museums in Barcelona > CaixaForum - contemporary art

CaixaForum - contemporary art

Museum of contemporary art in a former clothing factory from the Modernisme

The La Caixa Foundation in Barcelona has one of the most important collections of contemporary art in Europe. More than 800 exhibits outstanding artists such as Beuys, Anish Kapoor, Tony Cragg or Juan Uslé are in the Museum of the CaixaForum Barcelona.

The CaixaForum is a part of the cultural and social commitment of the Caixa.

The museum opened in 2002 and is located in the individual restored clothing factory Casa Casarramona. The construction at the foot of Montjuic was designed by Catalan architect Josep Puig i Cadafalch and is held in the style of Catalan Art Nouveau, the Modernism.

The building, a former clothing factory from the Modernisme

The social foundation of the Caixa is housed in an important building from the Modernisme. The industrialist Casimir Casarramona, a pioneer in the use of electrically operated machinery in factories, assigned Josep Puig i Cadafalch to the construction of the factory. Along with Gaudí and Domènech i Montaner, Puig i Cadafalch was as one of the most important architects of the Modernisme, the Catalan art nouveau.

In an impressive way, the factory is an example of how the art nouveau combined functionality and aesthetics. Medieval castles inspired Puig i Cadafalch to build the factory with bricks and decorate it with cast-iron ornaments. Back then, the building was a prime example in respect of fire prevention and was long seen as a standard in the matter of labour conditions.

In 1913, the building was inaugurated, in 1919 the clothing factory moved out of it. For quite a while it was vacant before being used as a police station from 1940 to 1992. In 1963, the savings bank "la Caixa" had become the new proprietor of the building.

In 2002, the Casaramona was reopened as the CaixaForum, the cultural and social centre of the social foundation of the Caixa.
The most important aspects of the reconstruction of the building at the foot of the Montjuïc were to maintain the original structure, colour and style, but also to set new trends. The exhibition space comprising 3,000 sq.m. should be flooded with light. The entrance area was designed by the Japanese architect Arata Isozaki. A tree made of steel and glass welcomes the visitors at the CaixaForum.


Important information

Address
Avinguda Marquèss de Comillas, 6-8
Phone: +34934768600
www.fundacio.lacaixa.es

Arrival
Metro: Espanya, (L1, L3, FGC)

Opening times
Daily: 10.00-20.00
July and August, Wed.: 10-23.00
Closed on 1 Jan., 6 Jan. and 25 Dec.

Admission
Admission €4.00
Free admission with the Barcelona Card



Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by E-Mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Sehenswürdigkeiten > Museen in Barcelona > CaixaForum - zeitgenössische Kunst

CaixaForum - zeitgenössische Kunst

Zeitgenössische Kunst in einem bedeutenden Gebäude

Die Stiftung La Caixa (sprich "Caischa") besitzt in Barcelona eine der bedeutendsten Sammlungen zeitgenössischer Kunst in Europa. Mehr als 800 Exponate herausragender Künstler wie z.B. Beuys, Anish Kapoor, Tony Cragg oder Juan Uslé sind im Museum des Caixa Forum Barcelona zu sehen.

Im CaixaForum werden hauptsächlich wechselnde Ausstellungen mit den unterschiedlichsten Themen zeitgenössischer Kunst gezeigt. Einen aktuellen Veranstaltungskalender finden Sie auf der Seite des CaixaForums.
Es lohnt sich, neben diesen erstklassigen Ausstellungen auch das Gebäude selbst anzuschauen.

Das CaixaForum ist ein Teil des kulturellen und sozialen Engagements der Caixa. Die Caixa ist vergleichbar mit den deutschen Sparkassen.

Das Gebäude, eine ehemalige Textilfabrik des Modernisme

Die Sozialstiftung der Caixa befindet sich in einem bedeutendem Gebäude des Modernisme. Der Industrielle Casimir Casarramona, ein Pionier in der Anwendung elektrisch betriebener Maschinen in Fabriken, beauftragte Josep Puig i Cadafalch mit dem Bau der Fabrik. Puig i Cadafalch war neben Gaudí und Domènech i Montaner einer der bedeutendsten Architekten des Modernisme, dem katalanischen Jugendstil.

Die Fabrik verkörpert auf eindrucksvolle Weise, wie im Modernisme Funktionalität und Ästhetik Hand in Hand gingen. Für den Bau aus Backstein und gusseisernen Ornamenten wurde Puig i Cadafalch durch mittelalterliche Burgen inspiriert. Das Gebäude war in der damaligen Zeit auch wegweisend in Sachen Brandschutz und diente lange als Maßstab in Sachen Arbeitsbedingungen. 

1913 wurde das Gebäude eingeweiht und 1919 zog die Textilfabrik jedoch wieder aus dem Fabrikgebäude aus. Lange stand das Gebäude dann leer, von 1940 bis 1992 wurde es dann als Polizeistation genutzt. 1963 wurde die Sparkasse "la Caixa" neuer Eigentümer.

2002 wurde das Casa Casarramona wiedereröffnet. Die Sozialstiftung der Caixa schuf hier mit dem CaixaForum ihr kulturelles und gesellschaftliches Zentrum.

Beim Umbau des Gebäudes am Fuße des Montjuïc stand die Erhaltung der ursprünglichen Struktur, Farbe und Stil im Vordergrund, aber auch eigene, neue Akzente zu setzen. Die 3.000m² umfassenden Ausstellungsflächen sollten mit viel Licht durchflutet sein. Der Eingangsbereich wurde vom japanischen Architekten Arata Isozaki entworfen. Ein Baum aus Stahl und Glas heißt Sie im CaixaForum willkommen.


Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Adresse
Avinguda Marquèss de Comillas, 6-8
Telefon: +34934768600
www.fundacio.lacaixa.es

Anreise
Metro: Espanya, (L1, L3, FGC)

Öffnungszeiten
Täglich: 10-20:00 Uhr
Juli und August, Mittwochs: 10-23:00 Uhr
Geschlossen am 1.1., 6.1. und 25.12.

Eintrittspreise
Eintritt 4,00 €
Freier Eintritt mit der Barcelona Card



Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Das erste Gebäude Gaudís eröffnet:

Gaudís erster großer Entwurf eines Gebäudes kann nun besichtigt werden. Hier Tickets für das Casa Vicens.