You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Buildings > Hospital de Santa Creu i de Sant Pau

Hospital de Santa Creu i de Sant Pau

Beautiful buildings to help the recovery

The Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau - or "Hospital Sant Pau" - has evolved from a medieval charitable home to a modern hospital since its founding about 600 years ago. Today, the Hospital Sant Pau is also one of the most beautiful and significant modernistic complexes. Here you can book tickets for the admission.


Our Recommendation

  • A guided tour of Hospital Sant Pau
  • Tickets for the admission to Hospital Sant Pau
Description

Admission Tickets

  • Admission with voucher at the cash register
  • Visit the hospital complex with reception pavilion, connecting tunnel, exhibition areas, pavilion Sant Jordi, pavilion Sant Rafael
  • The voucher is valid for one admission during the calendar year, no selection of a specific time or date required
  • Children up to the age of 11 have free admission when accompanied by their parents
  • Young people from 12 to 29 years and seniors 65+ get a discounted entrance fee

Guided Tour

  • 1.15 hour guided tour of Hospital Sant Pau
  • Languages: English, French and Spanish
  • Children up to 11 can attend for free when accompanied by their parents
  • Discount for young adults (12-29 years) and seniors 65+
Times

Opening Hours

November to March:

  • Monday to Saturday: 9:30 to 16:30
  • Sunday and public holidays: 9:30 to 14:30

April to October:

  • Monday to Saturday: 9:30 to 18:30
  • Sunday and public holidays 9:30 to 14:30

Times of the Guided Tour

  • English: daily at 10:30
  • Spanish: daily at 12:00
  • French: Saturdays and Sundays at 11:00

Closed on the 1 and 6 of January and 25 and 26 of December.

Booking Information
  • Booking is really simple: select the product on the right side of this page. Enter the number of people you would like to book for.
  • If you booked the tickets for the admission you will receive an e-mail with the voucher immediately after booking. Just print it out and show it before the admission.
  • If you booked the guided tour you will get an e-mail confirming that we received your booking immediately after. Within 48 hours after booking you will receive a binding booking confirmation.
  • Guests with reduced rates (disabled, senior citizens, students and students) need to carry a valid ID. A necessary accompanying person must be registered in the disability card. Without proof, the admission can be denied. In that case a refund won't be possible.
Cancellation Policy

Admission Ticket

  • A cancellation is possible up to six weeks after booking (latest however until the 15 of January of the following year), provided that the vouchers have not yet been redeemed
  • No cancellation fees

Guided Tour

  • A free cancellation is possible up to 48 hours prior to the booked event. You will receive a full refund.
  • In case of a later cancellation or a no show a refund won't be possible.
  • No cancellation fees

Why Hospital Sant Pau is Worth Visiting

Always with the intention of serving people and their health, many things are different here than in popular clinics: a hospital that, as a total work of art, has colorized freshness instead of sterility.

The Hospital Sant Pau is a beautiful complex from the time of the Modernsime, a masterpiece by the architect Lluis Domènech i Montaner. Here you will feel comfortable and wonder why not all hospitals are built that way. Rightly the hospital is on the list of UNESCO World Heritage.

The History of the Hospital Sant Pau

In 1348, the black plague spread in Barcelona and as a result about one third of the population died. With this terrible apocalypse, people realized the need for an organized healthcare system more and more.

At the beginning of the 15th century, a comprehensive hospital complex was built to bring the six existing hospitals in Barcelona under one roof. The origin of the Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau is located in the district "El Raval". The former hospital building at its original location is a magnificent example of Gothic civil architecture. Antoni Gaudí died in the hospital in 1926 after a traffic accident. Today it houses the medical faculty and the Catalan State Library.

In the late nineteenth century, thanks to increasing industrialization, economic and social growth in Spain and a major expansion of Barcelona's urban area took place. Health care also made a leap into scientific medicine and had to face new hygienic principles. In addition, the buildings in the narrow neighborhood El Raval were too small and it was planned to expand the area of the hospital.

In 1902, the legacy of the banker Pau Gil made it possible to build a new hospital. Thus, on January 15, 1902, the construction work could begin with the laying of the foundation stone at its current location - only about 1,000 metres from Sagrada Familia. The hospital was named "Hospital de la Santa Creu i de Sant Pau" in the banker's honor. A good thirty years later, on January 16, 1930, the new hospital was handed over to King Alfonso XIII of Spain.

After almost 80 years, the hospital moved to the new buildings right next door and the historic facility is open to visitors including the wards.

Hospital Sant Pau - The City Within the City

The hospital was to become something very special: surrounded by trees in a relaxed environment, where patients could recover from their illnesses and pains and breathe fresh, clean air. The medieval and Moorish-influenced architecture - typical of much of Catalan Art Nouveau - don't make it seem like it's a hospital. The orientation of the buildings to the north-south axis of the enclosure allows maximum solar radiation on the facades of the pavilions. In addition, the design as a "Park Hospital" created open areas for the well-being of the patients, which at the time was considered a novelty.

The hospital area almost occupies an entire block, the almost 30 buildings are spread in a park. With the addition of two gardens per pavilion, the architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner gave the complex a cheerful, optimistic character, which makes the patients and their family members feel better. Horse chestnuts, lime trees and orange trees line the central promenade and provide shade in the summer. Medicinal plants such as laurel, lavender, rosemary and lemon bushes grow in the flower beds on the roadside.

At the main entrance of the Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau, you can see the chapel-like administration building with a large dome roof and an impressive entrance hall with marble columns and mosaic-covered ceilings. The building has similarity to a church, as it is supposed to symbolize the Christian tradition. At the same time, the building is supposed to represent a human being who spreads his arms and receives the patients with open arms.

Behind the administration building you can see the pavilion with the operating theatre in the middle. The tunnel system that connects the pavilion to the others allows patients to be quickly moved to their rooms.

At the end of the original area was the monastery pavilion. The building was designed by Pere Domènech, Lluis Domenèch i Montaner's son. It consists of three parts connected by small covered pedestrian bridges. The service areas of the hospital such as kitchen, pharmacy and the accommodations for the nuns who worked here as nurses were located here.

A new building, which is located behind the monastery building, expands the old hospital and is now home to the modern hospital. Today, you can visit the historic, modernistic hospital area of Hospital Sant Pau.

Here you can book the admission.

An Early Example of Construction Sustainably

The facility is an example of sustainable construction and efficient energy management. On the basis of geothermal installations, which provided heat supply to various pavilions of the hospital complex in the form of almost 400 wells over 100 meters deep. For reasons of hygiene, the whole area was laid out on a slope: warm air pulls up - so the ventilation system was developed in a way that all bacteria and viruses are pulled away from the patients with the natural air flow.

The chosen building materials are made of durable building materials, which fulfill the function of a hospital. As a typical part of modernistic architecture we find a striking mix of brick, natural stone and ceramics. The predominantly processed material is red brick, which was used exclusively for facades, in combination with natural stone, which was used for all decorative, architectural elements, reliefs and sculptures. Additionally you can find shiny ceramic stone in the cladding of the domes, roofs and mosaics, as well as in the interior ceiling designs.

Since 1997, the Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau has been on the UNESCO World Heritage List and in 2001 celebrated its 600th anniversary.

The Santa Creu de Sant Pau Hospital can be reached directly from Sagrada Familia over the beautiful tree-lined pedestrian street "Avinguda de Gaudí" or from the metro station "Hospital Sant Pau".


Book Tickets for the Admission

Here you can get the tickets for the admission to explore the Hospital Sant Pau on your own.
Please enter the number of persons you would like to book for.
2018 - Admission Hospital Sant Pau Desired quantity
Adults 30-64 years 14.00 € 13.50€
Young persons 12 - 29 years 9.80 € 9.50€
Seniors 65+ 9.80 € 9.50€
Children until 11 years, disabled more than 65% of certified handicap 0.00€
2018 - Admission Hospital Sant Pau + Audioguide
Adults 30-64 years 17.00€
Young persons 12 - 29 years 12.80€
Seniors 65+ 12.80€
Children until 11 years, disabled more than 65% of certified handicap 3.00€


Important information

Address
Carrer de Sant Antoni Maria Claret, 167
Phone: +34 932 562 504
www.visitsantpau.com

Arrival
Metro: L5 Sant Pau – Dos de Maig, (L4) Guinardó
Bus Turístic: Sagrada Familia

Tips for the visit of the hospital

From the Sagrada Familia, the c/ Gaudí leads directly to the hospital. The approximately 1,000 meters is worth to go.



Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by e-mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Barcelona > Bauwerke in Barcelona > Hospital de la Santa Creu i de Sant Pau

Hospital de la Santa Creu i de Sant Pau

Eine modernistische Stadt in der Stadt - hier Buchen Sie die Führung und Tickets für den Eintritt

Das Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau - oder kurz "Hospital Sant Pau" - hat sich seit seiner Gründung vor rund 600 Jahren von einem mittelalterlichen Wohlfahrtshaus zu einem modernen Krankenhaus entwickelt. Heute ist das Hospital Sant Pau auch einer der schönsten und bedeutendsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.
Hier buchen Sie Tickets und die Führung.



Leistungen Führung mit Eintritt

  • 1-stündige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau mit deutschsprachigem Reiseleiter
  • Der Eintritt in das Hospital Sant Pau ist im Preis enthalten. Nach der Führung können Sie im Hospital Sant Pau so lange bleiben wie Sie möchten.
  • Folgende Bereiche werden bei der Führung besichtigt: Empfangspavillon, Verbindungstunnel, Ausstellungsflächen, Pavillon Sant Jordi, Pavillon Sant Rafael, Notfallaufnahme /Sala Hipóstila, mit unterirdischen Gängen, Operationssaal/Pabellón de operaciones, Krankenstation/Pabellón de Sant Rafael, Pavillon Sant Jordi (Ausstellung), Pavillon de la Administracion und Eingangshalle, Konferenzraum (bei Konferenzen keine Besichtigung), Sala Pau Gil (ehemalige Bibliothek)
  • Bei der privaten Führung ist unser Reiseleiter exklusiv für Sie da

Leistungen Ticket für den Eintritt

  • Eintritt mit Voucher an der Kasse
  • Audioguide (bitte wählen Sie unsere Buchungsmöglichkeit mit Audioguide)
  • Besichtigung des Krankenhauskomplexes mit Empfangspavillon, Verbindungstunnel, Ausstellungsflächen, Pavillon Sant Jordi, Pavillon Sant Rafael
  • Der Voucher ist einmalig innerhalb des Kalenderjahres gültig, keine Zeitwahl nötig
  • Kinder bis zum vollendeten 11. Lebensjahr haben in Begleitung ihrer Eltern freien Eintritt
  • Junge Personen von 12 - 29 Jahre und Senioren 65+ erhalten zum ermäßigten Preis Eintritt

Warum ein Besuch des Hospital Sant Pau lohnt

Immer mit der Absicht, dem Menschen und seiner Gesundheit zu dienen, ist hier manches anders als in landläufigen Kliniken: ein Krankenhaus, dass als Gesamtkunstwerk kolorierte Frische statt Sterilität zu bieten hat.

Das Hospital Sant Pau ist eine wunderschöne Anlage aus der Zeit des Modernsime, ein Meisterwerk des Architekten Lluis Domènech i Montaner. Hier werden Sie sich wohl fühlen und sich fragen, warum nicht alle Krankenhäuser so gebaut sind. Während des Besuchs erhalten Sie viele spannende Informationen über das Gesundheitssystem der letzten 100 Jahre. Zu Recht steht das Hospital auf der Liste des Welterbes der UNESCO, durch die räumliche Nähe zur Sagrada Familia lohnt sich das Sparpaket "Sagrada Familia + Hospital Sant Pau" besonders.

Die Geschichte des Hospital Sant Pau

Im Jahre 1348 verbreitete sich die schwarze Pest in Barcelona und als Folge davon starb rund ein Drittel der damaligen Bevölkerung. Anhand dieser schrecklichen Apokalypse rückte die Notwendigkeit eines organisierten Gesundheitssystem immer stärker in das Bewusstsein der Menschen.

Anfang des 15. Jahrhunderts wurde eine umfassende Krankenhausanlage gebaut, um die sechs bereits existierenden Krankenhäuser in Barcelona alle unter ein gemeinsames Dach zu bringen. Der Ursprung des Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau liegt im Stadtteil "El Raval". Das ehemalige Krankenhausgebäude an seinem ursprünglichen Standort ist ein prächtiges Beispiel der gotischen Zivilarchitektur. Darin verstarb 1926 Antoni Gaudí nach einem Verkehrsunfall. Heute beherbergt es die medizinische Fakultät und die Katalanische Staatsbibliothek.

Im späten neunzehnten Jahrhundert kam es dank der zunehmenden Industriealisierung zu einem wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Aufschwung in Spanien und zu einer umfassenden Erweiterung des Stadtgebietes Barcelonas. Dabei machte auch die Gesundheitsversorgung einen Sprung in die wissenschaftliche Medizin und musste sich neuen hygienischen Prinzipien stellen. Zudem wurden die Gebäude im engen Stadtviertel El Raval zu klein und man plante, das Gelände der Krankenhausanlage zu erweitern.

Führung im Hospital Sant Pau

1902 ermöglichte das Vermächtnis des Bankiers Pau Gil ein neues Krankenhaus zu bauen. So konnten man am 15. Januar 1902 die Bauarbeiten mit der Grundsteinlegung an seinem heutigen Standort - nur etwa 1.000 Meter von der Sagrada Familia entfernt - beginnen. Das Krankenhaus hieß ab nun zu seinen Ehren "Hospital de la Santa Creu i de Sant Pau". Gut dreißig Jahre später, am 16. Januar 1930, wurde das neue Krankenhaus dem spanischen König Alfons XIII übergeben.

Nach fast 80 Jahren wechselte der Krankenhausbetrieb in die neuen Gebäude direkt nebenan und die historische Anlage steht den Besuchern inklusive der Krankenzimmern Besuchern offen.

Hospital Sant Pau - Die Stadt in der Stadt

Das Krankenhaus sollte etwas ganz Spezielles werden: in einer entspannten Umgebung von Bäumen umsäumt, wo sich die Patienten von ihren Krankheiten und Schmerzen erholen und frische, saubere Luft einatmen konnten. Durch die mittelalterliche und maurisch beeinflusste Architektur - typisch für einen großen Teil des katalanischen Jugendstils - merkt man gar nicht, dass es sich um ein Krankenhaus handelt. Die Ausrichtung der Gebäude zur Nordsüd-Achse des Geändes ermöglicht die maximale Sonneneinstrahlung auf die Fassaden der Pavillons. Zudem schuf man mit der Gestaltung als "Park-Krankenhaus" offene Bereiche für das Wohlergehen der Patienten, was damals als Neuheit galt.

Fast einen ganzen Block nimmt das Krankenhaus-Areal ein, die fast 30 Gebäude liegen in einer Parkanlage. Mit dem Einbezug von je zwei Gärten pro Pavillon, verleihte der Architekt Lluís Domènech i Montaner der Anlage einen fröhlichen, optimistischen Charakter, welcher die Kranken und ihren Familienangehörigen sich besser fühlen lässt. Rosskastanien, Linden- und Orangenbäume säumen die zentrale Promenade und spenden Schatten im Sommer. Medizinische Heilpflanzen wie Lorbeer, Lavendel Rosmarin und Zitronensträucher wachsen in den Beeten am Strassenrand.

Am Haupteingang des Areals des Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau befindet sich das kapellenartige Verwaltungsgebäude mit einem großen Kuppeldach und einer beeindruckenden Eingangshalle mit Marmorsäulen und mosaikübersäten Decken. Das Gebäude sieht nicht zufällig aus wie eine Kirche, soll es doch die christliche Tradition symbolisieren. Gleichzeitig soll das Gebäude einen Menschen darstellen, welcher seine Arme ausbreitet und die Patienten mit offenen Armen empfängt.

Hinter dem Verwaltungsgebäude sehen Sie in der Mitte den Pavillon mit dem Operationssaal. Durch das Tunnelsystem, mit dem der Pavillon mit den anderen verbunden ist, können die Patienten schnell in ihre Zimmer verlegt werden.

Am Ende des ursprünglichen Areals befand sich der Kloster-Pavillon. Das Gebäude wurde von Pere Domènech, dem Sohn von Lluis Domenèch i Montaner, entworfen. Es besteht aus drei Teilen, die mit kleinen überdachten Fußgängerbrücken verbunden sind. Hier waren die Servicebereiche des Hospitals untergebracht wie Küche, Apotheke und die Unterkünfte für die Nonnen, die hier als Krankenschwestern arbeiteten.

Ein Neubau, welches sich hinter dem Klostergebäude befindet, erweiterte das alte Krankenhaus und beheimat heute das moderne Krankenhaus. Das historische, modernistische Krankenhausareal des Hospital Sant Pau können Sie heute besichtigen. Hier können Sie Führungen und Eintritt buchen.

Frühes Beispiel nachhaltigen Bauens

Die Anlage ist ein Beispiel für nachhaltiges Bauen und einen effizienten Energiehaushalt. Anhand von geothermischen Installationen, die in Form von fast 400 Brunnen mit über 100 Meter Tiefe die Wärmeversorgung verschiedenen Pavillons der Krankenhausanlage gewährleisteten. Das ganze Areal ist aus hygienischen Gründen an einem Gefälle angelegt worden: die warme Luft zieht bekanntlich nach oben - also wurde das Lüftungssystem so entwickelt, dass mit dem Durchzug alle Bakterien und Viren von den Patienten weggezogen werden.

Die gewählten Baumaterialien sind aus beständigen Baustoffen, die der Funktion eines Krankenhauses gerecht werden. Als typischer Bestandteil der modernistischen Architektur finden wir einen auffälligen Materialmix von Backstein, Naturstein und Keramik. Das vorwiegend verarbeitete Material ist der rote Backsteinziegel, der ausschliesslich für Fassaden verwendet wurde, in Kombination mit Naturstein, welcher für alle dekorativen, architektonischen Elemente, Reliefs und Skulpturen eingesetzt wurde. Dazu gesellt sich der glänzende Keramikstein, den man in den Verkleidungen der Kuppeln, Dächer und Mosaiken sowie in den Deckengestaltungen im Innenbereich, findet.

Das Hospital de la Santa Creu i de Sant Pau erreichen Sie direkt von der Sagrada Familia über die schöne mit Bäumen gesäumte Fußgängerzone "Avinguda de Gaudí" bzw. von der U-Bahnstation "Hospital Sant Pau".

Seit 1997 steht das das Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau auf der Liste des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes und es feierte 2001 sein 600-jähriges Bestehen.


Buchen Sie hier die offene Hospital Sant Pau-Führung

Hier buchen Sie die Hospital Sant Pau-Tour als offene Führung. Sie sind zusammen mit anderen Gästen in einer Gruppe.
Bitte geben Sie hier Ihr Wunschdatum und die Anzahl der Personen an. Die Führung startet montags, mittwochs und samtags um 10:30 Uhr. Der Eintritt ist im Preis der Führung enthalten.
Bitte geben Sie das Datum an
Deutschsprachige Führung Hospital de Sant Pau + inklusive Eintritt (montags, mittwochs und samstags 10:30 Uhr) Gewünschte Anzahl
Deutschsprachige Führung Hospital de Sant Pau + inklusive Eintritt, 10:30 Uhr (Erwachsene 30-64 Jahre) 29,90€
Deutschsprachige Führung Hospital de Sant Pau + inklusive Eintritt, 10:30 Uhr (Junge Personen 12-29 Jahre) 24,90€
Deutschsprachige Führung Hospital de Sant Pau + inklusive Eintritt, 10:30 Uhr (Senioren 65+) 24,90€
Deutschsprachige Führung Hospital de Sant Pau + inklusive Eintritt, 10:30 Uhr (Kinder 6-11 Jahre) 12,90€
Deutschsprachige Führung Hospital de Sant Pau + inklusive Eintritt, 10:30 Uhr (Kinder bis 5 Jahre in Begleitung der Eltern) 0,00€


Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Adresse
Carrer de Sant Antoni Maria Claret, 167
Telefon: +34 932 562 504
www.visitsantpau.com

Anreise
Metro: Metro: L5 Sant Pau – Dos de Maig, (L4) Guinardó
Bus Turístic: Sagrada Familia

Hinweise zum Besuch des Hospitals

Von der Sagrada Familia führt die c/Gaudí direkt zum Hospital. Die etwa 1.000 Meter lohnen sich zu gehen.
Mit einer deutschsprachigen Führung erhalten Sie einen Blick hinter die Kulissen des Hospitals.

Für den Besuch (mit oder ohne Führung) sollten Sie ca. 1,5 Stunden einplanen.



Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Das erste Gebäude Gaudís eröffnet:

Gaudís erster großer Entwurf eines Gebäudes kann nun besichtigt werden. Hier Tickets für das Casa Vicens.