You are here: barcelona.de > Attractions > Museums in Barcelona > Museu del Modernisme Català - Museum of Catalan Art Nouveau

Museu del Modernisme Català - Museum of Catalan Art Nouveau

Art from one of Catalonias most important art movements

According to information provided by the Museu del Modernisme Català (MMCAT) this is the only museum that is dedicated exclusively to Catalan Art Nouveau. The museum, which opened in March 2011, is located in modernist residential and factory buildings built by Eric Santer between 1902 and 1904.

The MMCAT has an exhibition area of 1,000 m². On the ground floor of the museum there are mainly furnishings from the modernist era, such as cabinets, dining tables, wardrobes, office furniture, crucifixes, ceramics and other artfully designed everyday items. Here it becomes clear why the modernist era was mainly a middle class Bourgoise epoch: objects - whether for everyday use or as an object d’art - are all beautifully designed. Even at the end of the 19th and start of the 20th centuries the purchaser of such objects had to outlay a considerable amount of money.

On the ground floor can be found the furniture of designer and architect Antoni Gaudí, the most important representative of Modernism. In an area of the museum dedicated specifically to him there are works that were designed especially by the master for the decoration of the Casa Calvet, the Casa Mila and Casa Batlló.

In the cellar of the former factory building, you will find the painting and sculpture collection. Works exhibited here are from some of the most important Modernist painters: including Ramon Casas - whose works defined the style of Modernism, amongst others - Santiago Rusiñol, one of the most outstanding artists of the modernist era, and Joaquim Mir i Trinxet who produced great modernist works. Significant sculptures are exhibited by Josep Llimona and Eusebi Anrnau, a sculptor who was also involved in the building of the Palau de la Música and the Hospital de la Santa Creu i de Sant Pau.

The museum collection consists of over 350 works by 42 artists of various disciplines of modernist painting, sculpture, furniture and decorative arts. The collection comes from the gallery owners, Fernando und Maria Pinos Guira and their Gothsland gallery. The architecture is not presented as independent and most obvious discipline of Modernism, although the museum itself is housed in a modernist building. But the Eixample district, which houses the MMCAT, constitutes a veritable open-air museum with its huge variety of modernist buildings.

The MMCAT does not show how Modernism in Catalonia differs from other forms of Art Nouveau such as Art Nouveau / Fin de siècle in France or the Arts and Crafts movement in England. But the Museu de Modernisme Català provides a very good impression of what artefacts the Bourgoise middle classes were surrounded with at end of the 19th and start of the 20th centuries. You can also see how the work of modernist designers and artists differ: from towering Antoni Gaudí's organic, natural forms of being - to representatives of Modernism that are less well-known to the general public, such as Gaspar Homar i Mezquez with his straight and practically designed furniture.


Important information

Address
Balmes, 48
Phone: +34 932 722 896
www.mmcat.cat

Arrival
Metro: Passeig de Gràcia (L2, L3, L4)
Bus Turístic: Casa Batlló/Fundació Antoni Tàpies

Opening times
Mondays to Saturdays.: 10.30 to 19.00
Sundays: 10.00 to 14.00
Closed on Mondays
Closed on 1 and 6 January, 1 May, 25 and 26 December

Admission
Regular: €10,00
Reduced: €7.00 (17-25 years, seniors 65+, disabled people)
Children 6-16 years: €5.00
Free admission for children under 6 years.
Free admission with skip the line Barcelona Card.

tips for the visit of the Museu del Modernisme Català

Schedule one hour for the visit. If you are interested more in Modernism we recommend the <a href="barcelona-modernisme-gaudi-tour.html">Modernisme Tour</a>.



Tickets Camp Nou Experience:

New: Tickets directly by E-Mail!
Book here tickets for the Camp Nou Experience.
Take a look behind the scenes of Europe's largest football stadium.

The Barcelona.de gift voucher:

Perfect for birthdays, Christmas and other events. Our gift voucher is redeemable for all services offered in our shop.

Sie befinden sich hier: barcelona.de > Die schönsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Barcelona > Museen in Barcelona > Museu del Modernisme de Barcelona - Museum des katalanischen Jugendstils

Museu del Modernisme de Barcelona - Museum des katalanischen Jugendstils

Kunst aus einer der bedeutendsten Epochen Kataloniens

Nach eigenen Angaben ist das Museu del Modernisme Català (MMCAT) das einzige Museum, welches sich ausschließlich dem katalanischen Jugendstil widmet. Das im März 2011 eröffnete Museum befindet sich in einem von Eric Sanier von 1902 bis 1904 erbauten modernistischen Wohn- und Fabrikgebäude.

Das MMCAT verfügt über eine Ausstellungsfläche von 1.000m². Im Erdgeschoss des Museums befinden sich vor allem Einrichtungsgegenstände aus der Zeit des Modernisme, wie z.B. Schränke, Esstische, Garderoben, Büromöbel, Kruzifixe, Keramiken und andere kunstvoll gestaltete Alltagsgegenstände. Hier wird einem klar, warum der Modernisme vor allem eine Epoche des bourgeoisen Bürgertums war: die Gegenstände - ob nun für den Alltagsgebrauch oder als Kunstobjekt - sind allesamt prachtvoll gestaltet. Selbst in der Zeit der Jahrhundertwende vom 19. zum 20 Jahrhundert mussten die Käufer solcher Gegenstände viel Geld hinlegen.

Ebenfalls im Erdgeschoss finden Sie Möbel des Architekten und Designer Antoni Gaudí, dem bedeutendsten Vertreter des Modernisme. In einem eigens für ihn gewidmeten Bereich des Museums sind Werke zu besichtigen, die der Meister eigens zu Dekoration des Casa Calvet, des Casa Milà und des Casa Batlló entworfen hat.

Im Untergeschoss des ehemaligen Fabrikgebäudes finden Sie die Gemälde- und Skulpturensammlung. Ausgestellt sind hier Werke der bedeutendsten Maler des Modernisme: u.a. von Ramon Casas - dessen Werke definierten u.a. die Stilrichtung des Modernisme - Santiago Rusiñol, einem der herausragendsten Künstler des Modernisme und von Joaquim Mir i Trinxet, der auch nach dem Modernisme bedeutende Werke hervorbrachte. Bedeutende ausgestellte Skulpturen sind von Josep Llimona und Eusebi Anrnau, einem Bildhauer, der auch an den Gebäuden des Palau de la Música und des Hospital de la Santa Creu i de Sant Pau mitwirkte.

Die Sammlung des Museums besteht aus über 350 Werken von 42 Künstlern der verschiedensten Disziplinen des Modernisme: Malerei, Skulptur, Möbel und dekorative Kunst. Die Sammlung stammt von den Galeristen Fernando und Maria Pinos Guirao und ihrer Galerie Gothsland. Nicht präsentiert wird die Architektur als eigenständige und augenscheinlichste Disziplin des Modernisme, wenngleich das Museum selbst in einem modernistischen Gebäude untergebracht ist. Aber der Stadtteil Eixample, in dem sich das MMCAT befindet, ein wahres riesiges Freilichtmuseum mit seiner Vielzahl modernistischen Gebäuden.

Das MMCAT zeigt zwar nicht, wie sich der Modernisme in Katalonien von anderen Ausprägungen des Jugenstils, z.B. des Art Nouveau / Fin de Siècle in Frankreich oder der Arts-and-Craft-Bewegung in England unterscheidet. Aber das Museu de Modernisme Català vermittelt einen sehr guten Eindruck darüber, mit welchen Gegenständen sich das Bourgoise Bürgertum der Jahrhundertwende vom 19. zum 20. Jahrhundert umgeben hat. Sie sehen hier auch, wie sich die Werke der modernistischen Designer und Künstler unterscheiden: vom alles überragenden Antoni Gaudí mitseinen organischen, naturnahen Formen bis hin zu der Allgemeinheit weniger bekannten Vertreter des Modernisme, wie z.B. Gaspar Homar i Mezquez mit seinen geraden und praktisch gestalteten Möbeln.


Das Wichtigste im Überblick

Adresse
Balmes, 48
Telefon: +34 932 722 896
www.mmcat.cat

Anreise
Metro: Passeig de Gràcia (L2, L3, L4)
Bus Turístic: Casa Batlló/Fundació Antoni Tàpies

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstags bis samstag: 10:30 bis 19:00 Uhr
Sonntags: 10:30 bis 14 Uhr
Montags geschlossen
Geschlossen am 1. und 6. Januar, 1. Mai, 25. und 26. Dezember

Eintrittspreise
Regulär: 10,00 €
Ermäßigt: 7,00 € (17-25 Jahre, Senioren 65+, Behinderte)
Kinder 6-16 Jahre: 5,00 €
Kinder unter 6 Jahre: frei
Freier Eintritt für Kinder unter 6 Jahre
Freier Eintritt ohne Anstehen mit der Barcelona Card.

Tipp zum Besuch des Museu del Modernisme Català

Planen Sie für das Museum rund eine Stunde ein.

Interessieren Sie sich mehr für den Modernisme, so empfehlen wir Ihnen unsere Modernisme- und Gaudí-Führung.



Führung Hospital Sant Pau:

Neu: buchen Sie hier die deutschsprachige Führung im Hospital Sant Pau. Einer der schönsten Gebäudekomplexe des Modernisme.

Das erste Gebäude Gaudís eröffnet:

Gaudís erster großer Entwurf eines Gebäudes kann nun besichtigt werden. Hier Tickets für das Casa Vicens.